Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Global Jet Club F-86F

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Global Jet Club F-86F

Old 02-18-2023, 11:17 AM
  #1  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default Global Jet Club F-86F

Received it yesterday and unpacked today. It's a nice sport scale F-86 that is nicely done. I plan on a RCU build sequence on this thread. For now here is the beginning.

Old 02-18-2023, 11:21 AM
  #2  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Unpacking

Last edited by tp777fo; 02-18-2023 at 11:23 AM.
The following 2 users liked this post by tp777fo:
grbaker (02-18-2023), Viper1GJ (02-18-2023)
Old 02-20-2023, 11:30 AM
  #3  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

First step us to fuel proof interior. I removed the tray, intake and tank and used rustoleum by brush.


Old 02-20-2023, 11:34 AM
  #4  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

5 ltr fuel tank.
The following 2 users liked this post by tp777fo:
patf (02-21-2023), Viper1GJ (02-20-2023)
Old 02-21-2023, 03:50 PM
  #5  
Steve Collins
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St.Charles, MO
Posts: 2,819
Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Looking at the configuration of that tank it seems it might be wise to have a second vent on the other side.
Old 02-21-2023, 04:18 PM
  #6  
jofunk
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: willow springs , IL
Posts: 1,208
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Collins
Looking at the configuration of that tank it seems it might be wise to have a second vent on the other side.
I think another vent would just cause a nasty leak in certain attitudes, flying or handling, unless you tee them together. The vents would certainly need to be teed together if you want to use a taxi tank........I don't think a second vent is needed. fuel being drawn out will draw air in.
Old 02-21-2023, 11:51 PM
  #7  
highhorse
My Feedback: (2)
 
highhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,551
Received 90 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Collins
Looking at the configuration of that tank it seems it might be wise to have a second vent on the other side.
I may be missing something here, but donít see the logic in a second vent and would leave it as is.
Old 02-21-2023, 11:53 PM
  #8  
highhorse
My Feedback: (2)
 
highhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,551
Received 90 Likes on 46 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Collins
Looking at the configuration of that tank it seems it might be wise to have a second vent on the other side.
I may be missing something there, but I donít see the need for a second vent (or even the logic of the suggestion) and would leave things as they are.
Old 02-22-2023, 05:38 AM
  #9  
Steve Collins
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St.Charles, MO
Posts: 2,819
Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

OK. Of course the vents would be "T"d together. Look at that tank again and consider this....when fueling and the level reaches the concave portion of the tank, the side with the vent will continue to fill while the side without a vent will not. Unless of course you want to live with having to tilt the plane fairly steeply and shake it like crazy to get fuel in there every time you refuel. BVM F-86 tanks are similar in shape and have vents on both sides. Those guys knew a few things.

Anyway, it's up to Tom to decide if he needs it or not.

Last edited by Steve Collins; 02-22-2023 at 05:41 AM.
The following 2 users liked this post by Steve Collins:
grbaker (02-22-2023), Ron S (03-10-2023)
Old 02-22-2023, 06:08 AM
  #10  
kevinthoele
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,702
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Collins
OK. Of course the vents would be "T"d together. Look at that tank again and consider this....when fueling and the level reaches the concave portion of the tank, the side with the vent will continue to fill while the side without a vent will not. Unless of course you want to live with having to tilt the plane fairly steeply and shake it like crazy to get fuel in there every time you refuel. BVM F-86 tanks are similar in shape and have vents on both sides. Those guys knew a few things.

Anyway, it's up to Tom to decide if he needs it or not.
Unless the tank is partitioned it will fill properly. It would of course need a second vent if it were to be partitioned. Looks like a fun scale bird to enjoy all the time!!
Old 02-22-2023, 06:15 AM
  #11  
Steve Collins
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St.Charles, MO
Posts: 2,819
Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

I give up. You guys win. You all know better. The air trapped on the side without a vent is going to just magically go away all by itself. Yep. I get it now. Stupid me. I don't know what I was thinking.

Last edited by Steve Collins; 02-22-2023 at 06:20 AM.
The following users liked this post:
grbaker (02-22-2023)
Old 02-22-2023, 06:34 AM
  #12  
jofunk
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: willow springs , IL
Posts: 1,208
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Good point Steve. I was just considering venting when running. Maybe it was a matter of simplicity and taking a small fuel penalty.
The following users liked this post:
camss69 (03-10-2023)
Old 02-22-2023, 06:56 AM
  #13  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default



This is my initial idea for electronic stuff.. The CB220 will power the CB100 which acts as an expander. I need 18 servo ports. The gear and doors will be sequenced by my DS16. If you haven't tried an AR Q-Switch you should. I can control the power to the radios, gear, brakes and lights through the R3RSW in the Q Switch. I tried it on my GJC F15 and it works great. As for the vent or not to vent, I will use a 2nd vent if I have a spare laying around, if not the fuel loss is minimal for my Cheeta.


Last edited by tp777fo; 02-22-2023 at 06:59 AM.
Old 02-22-2023, 07:12 AM
  #14  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default


Now for the business end. I hear the jet is nose heavy so I will put my Power Pack and UAT on the fuse sides. I need to leave the fuel tank sides clear to be able to remove the tank when necessary. If I have to, I can build a plate for the top of the tank for the PP and UAT.

Last edited by tp777fo; 02-22-2023 at 08:58 AM.
Old 02-22-2023, 11:56 AM
  #15  
kevinthoele
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,702
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Well I guess i was thinking about smaller Sabre I had plumbed same way. I simply picked one wingtip up to facilitate air removal. Maybe in this bigger one that might be a pain!
Old 02-25-2023, 12:06 PM
  #16  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Got my motor mounts from my main source, Aeropanda. Initial fitting looks good. Will put a ply nut plate under mounts for a blind nut/bolt


motor mount.
The following users liked this post:
Viper1GJ (02-25-2023)
Old 02-25-2023, 12:11 PM
  #17  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Q-Switch mounted. Servos will be here Monday and will jump on them. Decided to wait for the UAT & Power Pack mounting until I get it on the balancer to help with the CG. 3 3300 LiPos coming. 2 for radio and one will power lights, gear and brakes.
The following users liked this post:
Viper1GJ (02-25-2023)
Old 02-25-2023, 05:49 PM
  #18  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 2,411
Received 330 Likes on 217 Posts
Default

Lookin good Tom!
The following users liked this post:
tp777fo (02-25-2023)
Old 02-25-2023, 06:42 PM
  #19  
sideshow
My Feedback: (11)
 
sideshow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 3,224
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Collins
I give up. You guys win. You all know better. The air trapped on the side without a vent is going to just magically go away all by itself. Yep. I get it now. Stupid me. I don't know what I was thinking.
Wow, people in this thread don't instantly acknowledge your expertise on a model you don't own and you're just going to take your ball, pout and go home? If you really want to give up on the thread just stop posting instead of the histrionics....jeez
Old 02-26-2023, 01:50 AM
  #20  
GULDUKAT
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 226
Received 45 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

Looking forward to seeing it fly soon Tom.
The following users liked this post:
tp777fo (02-26-2023)
Old 02-26-2023, 04:14 PM
  #21  
kevinthoele
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 1,702
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

Good progress on the stuffing of the model Tom. Look forward to the end results
The following users liked this post:
tp777fo (02-26-2023)
Old 02-26-2023, 07:05 PM
  #22  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Got the motor mount finished today and motor and pipe mounted. Spent the rest of the day updating firmware on TX, RXs (the new Rex7 A40 with dipole antennas), CB220, CB100 and Cortex Pro. Made leads for Rx 1 & Rx 2 and short leads for CB/Cortex link using PowerBox heavy duty wire. Tomorrow I will finish a connector for nose gear light and by then my servos should be here. Lots of progress expected this week.
Old 02-27-2023, 05:23 AM
  #23  
Gary Szetlak
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lorain, OH
Posts: 347
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default F86 balance

This will not be nose heavy. I have 2x2600 mah receiver packs 2x2400 mah and a 3 cell 2500 mah LiFe ECU pack in the nose, plus all of my radio and turbine equipment on the front plate, the turbine pushed all the forward and a full UAT and it will still require 1 and 1/2 pounds in the nose to balance.
Gary
The following users liked this post:
tp777fo (02-27-2023)
Old 02-27-2023, 05:56 AM
  #24  
tp777fo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (28)
 
tp777fo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 3,481
Received 113 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Thanks Gary.
UPS sez servos delayed......grrrrrrrrr!

Last edited by tp777fo; 02-27-2023 at 06:00 AM.
Old 02-27-2023, 06:46 AM
  #25  
emart
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jim Thorpe, PA
Posts: 131
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

I also have a 5000 3 cell and 3 5000 2 cell in the battery trays and everything as far forward as possible and I am balanced OK Garry where did yu balance yours I am balanced right at the gear openeing on the fusalage which is about 420 mm back from LE

Ed




Last edited by emart; 02-27-2023 at 06:50 AM. Reason: attaching pics

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.