Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

EA BDXs 2m

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

EA BDXs 2m

Old 11-16-2023, 05:22 PM
  #51  
Dawn Ellzey
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Thornton, TX
Posts: 253
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Once it got to the US ours came USPS so you should be able to do a mail hold and the post office will hold it

Dawn
Old 11-18-2023, 09:08 AM
  #52  
qcsteve
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default


Iím going to be safety wiring this.
Old 11-18-2023, 10:19 AM
  #53  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

That's strange.... mine was safety wired and I cleaned out the tank with alcohol and pressure tested. All was well. Mine was not PNP either.....
Old 11-29-2023, 05:07 AM
  #54  
fierro1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 20
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

my fuel clunk was zip tied like qcsteve
Old 11-29-2023, 03:55 PM
  #55  
qcsteve
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Iím have a little bit of quality control issues. I had two ailment pins fall off do to poor glue and the rudder blind nut was screwed up and broke off. So re glue and new blind nut. I did safety wire my fuel clunk. Also missing or flat out wrong control arms in the bag. Placed an ordered for some new hardware.

Also have a set of new wings on the way. Long story but it was my fault.
Old 11-30-2023, 12:34 PM
  #56  
fierro1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 20
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have some things to nit pick about also but I think its just because its not how I would do it. I will be removing the zip ties and use wire on the clunk. I will also run the bolts into the rudder, elevators and canopy just to make sure there are no issues. Which alignment pins fell out?
Old 11-30-2023, 01:01 PM
  #57  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Not the easiest to see but I replaced all mine with turnbuckles just because that is my preference.







Old 11-30-2023, 02:24 PM
  #58  
qcsteve
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

The top left and right fuselage pins. I also bought some turn buckle linkages.

I well be installing a 120 motor but I really think this would fly on a 80 sized motor. Still debating on using a cortexPro. Really donít think it will be necessary.
Old 11-30-2023, 04:47 PM
  #59  
F1 Rocket
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 586
Likes: 0
Received 53 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

A few build photos from the Voodoo scheme BDXs I recently completed. Iíll post some glamour shots when itís assembled at the field tomorrow






















Last edited by F1 Rocket; 11-30-2023 at 04:50 PM.
Old 11-30-2023, 05:10 PM
  #60  
Dawn Ellzey
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Thornton, TX
Posts: 253
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Where are you sourcing the turnbuckles from.
We helped someone set up a BDX and used turnbuckles we had but they were given to us
Old 12-01-2023, 06:54 AM
  #61  
fierro1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 20
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Are the files available for the printed parts you're showing, like the fuel pump bracket and the XT 60 connector holders?
Old 12-01-2023, 08:12 AM
  #62  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dawn Ellzey
Where are you sourcing the turnbuckles from.
We helped someone set up a BDX and used turnbuckles we had but they were given to us
Dawn,

Depends on the diameter needed, but the 3mm seem to best to source from Esprit Models and they have different sizes as well, and some cool metal clevises too. MP Jet I think.....
Old 12-01-2023, 04:38 PM
  #63  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,698
Received 85 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

Aerosheldon, in the pic your using clips for the servo wires did buy or print them?
Old 12-01-2023, 04:52 PM
  #64  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob_B
Aerosheldon, in the pic your using clips for the servo wires did buy or print them?
If you mean coming out of the wings you can get those at Dremworks or Thunderbolt RC. They are called Ashlock connectors. I ususally use AMP connectors but needing 15 connections the AMP was too wide to work well.




Old 12-01-2023, 05:42 PM
  #65  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,995
Received 161 Likes on 144 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dawn Ellzey
Where are you sourcing the turnbuckles from.
We helped someone set up a BDX and used turnbuckles we had but they were given to us
Horizon have them, Pro-links

https://www.horizonhobby.com/search?...=&lang=default
Old 12-02-2023, 06:30 AM
  #66  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy

Those are only 4-40 though, if 3mm is needed you can get them where I mentioned. I do know many folks that use 3mm ball links on 4-40 but not everyone wants to do that.
Old 12-02-2023, 07:07 AM
  #67  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,995
Received 161 Likes on 144 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AEROSHELDON
Those are only 4-40 though, if 3mm is needed you can get them where I mentioned. I do know many folks that use 3mm ball links on 4-40 but not everyone wants to do that.
They work fine with 3mm Ball-link that I used... (secraft)
The following users liked this post:
AEROSHELDON (12-02-2023)
Old 12-04-2023, 09:59 AM
  #68  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by F1 Rocket
A few build photos from the Voodoo scheme BDXs I recently completed. Iíll post some glamour shots when itís assembled at the field tomorrow


Rocky sez there were no glamour shots! Haha.

How did it fly?
Did you use the recommended throws?
Where did you CG it and did you have fuel in it?
Did you use the Cortex settings from EA?

Thanks Danny!
Old 12-04-2023, 10:36 AM
  #69  
qcsteve
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Anyone have a gap back at the rudder.
Old 12-04-2023, 10:59 AM
  #70  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

I had a gap, but I just backed out the bolt and then seated the fin down on the tube again, and then tightened the bolt really well and it went away.... YMMV
Old 12-16-2023, 10:38 AM
  #71  
qcsteve
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

making some progress now. Need to order a replacement Jeti 900 because I broke the antenna trying to push it through a hole. Still waiting on my new wing set.





Old 12-16-2023, 11:08 AM
  #72  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,995
Received 161 Likes on 144 Posts
Default

You can get that 900 Fix, they have an antenna replacement program, Talk to Aeropanda
Old 12-16-2023, 01:27 PM
  #73  
jvaliensi
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 768
Received 113 Likes on 91 Posts
Default

Esprit used to have the antenna replacement program. That is no longer a thing. Now, you fill out a service request, ship it to Solid Tech /Aeropanda and they send it to the Jeti factory for repair. I just sent a REX12 in for a cut antenna wire. We'll see how long this takes and how much it cost.
Old 12-16-2023, 01:44 PM
  #74  
qcsteve
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East Moline, IL
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Trying not sound link a snob but itís just easier and quicker to order another one than ship back and forth. Iím in the process of laying out the motor.


Old 12-16-2023, 06:30 PM
  #75  
fierro1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 20
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default


I had a large gap when I tightened the horizontal stabilizer on, I put a small thin washer between the stab and fuse where the bolt goes through and wound up with this. I can live with this.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.