Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

BVM 1:7.75 F-18F Hornet flying qualities...

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

BVM 1:7.75 F-18F Hornet flying qualities...

Old 01-16-2024, 10:08 AM
MFIGHT43

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default BVM 1:7.75 F-18F Hornet flying qualities...

I am contemplating this aircraft as I love the F-18, but I am wondering what peeps REALLY feel about it.

Compared to other jets it seems the wing loading is fairly high. I know of several people who have this jet, but they don't fly it often. Someone once commented to me about it, "yeah everyone has one of those but they definitely don't fly it often. It's not their 'go-to jet' ".

On the other hand, I have read people saying "it's a great flying jet". As compared to what? Other scale jets?

I have been flying turbines for about 6 months now (with many many years experience in R/C prior to) using sport jets. They fly fantastic and are very addicting. And I'd like to continue with those nice flying qualities. Are scale jets worth the sacrifice in performance and handling qualities?

So what do you think? If you've flown one of these, what's your opinion?

Last edited by MFIGHT43; 01-16-2024 at 03:08 PM. Reason: grammer
Old 01-17-2024, 10:47 AM
Erik R
My Feedback: (32)

Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts

It is a wonderful jet, and would be an excellent choice for a first scale jet. Very docile, but aerobatic. A sweetheart in the landing pattern. You just need to keep the power on. The landing gear is complicated, and probably wonít take multiple bad landings, but is robust enough to withstand reasonable use. Donít be afraid to pull the trigger. Good luck!
Old 01-17-2024, 11:15 AM
raron455
My Feedback: (38)

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts