Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

F-20 From prop to DF Help

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

F-20 From prop to DF Help

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2003, 01:40 PM
MHall
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F-20 From prop to DF Help

I have the Direct Connection F-20 kit and want to know if anybody has converted it to ducted fan. If it can be done does anybody make a 3.5" fan unit. I think that I can stuff that size fan in it. If I am waisting my time, please let me know. I like that airframe design and want a DF plane to get my Jet waiver with. I am new to DF and Turbines so bear with me please.
Old 11-16-2003, 02:19 PM
Phil Cole

Default RE: F-20 From prop to DF Help

A 3.5" fan unit will require 3.5" intake and exhaust ducting, so that's not going to fit without a lot of changes. DF planes are designed around the power plant and ducting.

Also 3.5" fans are powered by engines in the 0.15 to 0.45 cubic inch range. A 0.45 powered 3.5" fan would be operating at 40,000 RPM or more to use the power available from the engine. I don't know of any fans or engines that can operate at 40,000 RPM.

Kress Jets and Toki make 3.5" fans. The Toki fan comes with an 0.18 engine and is good for planes up to about 4 lb. They are not that fast, and are probably not suitable for the turbine waiver flight demostration.

The standard DC F-20 could be OK for the waiver demstration, depending on your TCD. For waiver demonstrations the key features are high wing loading and complication (flaps and/or retracts) as well as speed.

The Jet Hangar F-86 sounds like the sort of plane you want to build. That uses a 5" fan with a 0.46 engine. JHH also have other 0.46 sized DFs. www.jethangar.com Only the JHH home page seems to be working at the moment.
Old 11-16-2003, 02:34 PM
MHall