Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

s/m 1/6 f16 in my hot little hands!

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

s/m 1/6 f16 in my hot little hands!

Old 01-06-2019, 02:04 PM
  #1951  
[email protected]
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel / smoke tanks.

hi guys looking for bit of info on what people are doing,
ĎI am putting my 16 back together and thinking of plumbing smoke by using top tank.
my system at moment draws from top tank fed by bottom 2 in parallel. / works fine.
Am thinking of running top tank as smoke.
Bottom 2 tanks fuel. , First question how big are they?
question 2 run them parallel to the trap or run in series.
i have had trouble running tanks parallel before in other planes and donít think you would notice side inbalance when 1 tank still full and other empty, has anyone done it this way?
Old 01-06-2019, 02:46 PM
  #1952  
icepilot
 
icepilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 1,616
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi - I am not exactly sure of the amount in the two bottom tanks, but I usually fly 7 minutes with a BF220 turbine, and always have a little fuel left in the left bottom tank. I have run tanks in series in all of my 3 SM 1/6 F-.16s, and never had a problem with side imbalance.
If you are unsure about the fuel amount, why not use one of the bottom tanks for oil, the top tank is bigger than the bottom tanks.
Tor
Old 01-06-2019, 04:07 PM
  #1953  
Ad Clark III
My Feedback: (7)
 
Ad Clark III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 247
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Probably depends on which motor you are using. I fly mine with a P200 and use all three for fuel. I can fly for 9 minutes, but usually land by 8 min with 1/2 to 3/4 upper tank remaining. I had Gary Mueler make me two small smoke tanks that fit into the wing root area in the fuse, It is a Thunderbird scheme so I had to have smoke. I also have my fuel system in a series like Tor's and have never had an issue with side imbalance. Good luck
Old 01-06-2019, 08:31 PM
  #1954  
[email protected]
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel smoke etc

Thanks guys esp Tor brilliant option thatís what I will do , one side for smoke will be fine.
i to have thunderbird scheme so it deserves smoke, only have a jetcat 160 so donít need full fuel anyway.
was a bit nervous running 2 tanks in parallel as have had problems with that in past. And is how this was plumbed when I got it.
i am busy at moment creating plug in dorsal fins with 3 - 4 3mm electric plugs as ripped one out, BTW donít fly it with 1 it is not nice. But as you guys know to fix is a major pain as you have to haul everything out.
also my front section was a bit loose / crushed wood at joiners.
and Undercarage needs a bit of tlc as one side been sticking.
Also changing radio from jr with Powerbox expander and 3e to a Jeti setup with Jeti assist gyro.
Old 01-07-2019, 12:43 AM
  #1955  
icepilot
 
icepilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 1,616
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just a fun fact: My first F-16 1/6 had a 160 size turbine. I had all three tanks full and had been in the air for approx 8 minutes preparing to land when a fullsize glider declared an emergency, claiming he was 2-3 minutes out. I was told to fly away from the runway area and go into a holding pattern. The glider only came in for landing after 5 minutes, and was quickly moved from the runway - by the time I was allowed to turn on final I had been in the air for 15 1/2 minutes, and as I taxied in from the runway, I only had fuel in my 200 ml hopper tank! 30 seconds more and I would have had a flameout and probably not enough speed to save the plane!
Old 05-03-2019, 06:07 AM
  #1956  
Spencer K
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 249
Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts
Default G3

Has anyone ordered a new g3 yet? I would like to know what changes have been made considering the skymaster website has zero information...

Also I am considering ordering one with the LE flaps, is this.a proven and safe system now or am I asking for trouble?
thanks
Old 05-03-2019, 06:24 AM
  #1957  
gawlevi
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Leetonia,Ohio OH
Posts: 131
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default 1/6 scale gen 3.

I have a gen 3. It is ready for it's maiden flight just waiting for the weather and my work schedule to cooperate.
the 1/6 is not available with the leading edge flaps even though there are pics on the site.
I also have a thread on the issues I had with this model. There were other issues I had that are not mentioned is my thread.
depending on which engine you want to use and if you want to use a bypass, there is another modification you'll need to know about.
pm me if you want more information.
Old 08-26-2020, 06:08 PM
  #1958  
Gary Jefferson
My Feedback: (167)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tailpipe length

Originally Posted by icepilot View Post
We had 2 sets that were sent here with the short pipes - that is wrong, and I believe you would melt or burn the tail cone with that setup.
I asked for (and got) 2 new, longer pipes that end only very close to the end of the cone.
Does anyone know the correct length for the tailpipe. I just purchased a new pipe from Skymaster for my K210 and it does not look long enough.

I have the turbine mounted all the way back to the former and it is as far back as it will go on the engine mounts. With a 25 mm distance from turbine to pipe the rear of pipe ends about 4Ē inches from the tear of the tailcone on the jet.

I know this canít be correct. If anyone knows the actual length of the pipe (without the bell mouth) I would appreciate the help. The f16 is a G2 version.

Thanks, Gary
Old 08-26-2020, 06:48 PM
  #1959  
gawlevi
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Leetonia,Ohio OH
Posts: 131
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Pipe length

I have the gen 3 and had the same and many more issues. I also had an issue with the bypass size as it would not fit between the engine rails. I modified the engine rails and used a BVM Ultra Bandit bypass that does not use a bell mouth. By doing this my pipe was now only short by 2 inches instead of 4 with the bell mouth. I lengthened the pipe the remaining 2 inches between the bypass and where the bell mouth was.
Old 08-28-2020, 05:51 PM
  #1960  
fotis kalevras
Junior Member
 
fotis kalevras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: GREECE
Posts: 27
Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

fantastic model!
Old 10-28-2020, 05:47 PM
  #1961  
FalconWings
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,974
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

I recently acquired a G1 in really good shape. Was planning on using a 160 Rhino, but now having second thoughts. Is 160 really enough? Not looking for unlimited verticals, Im happy doing inertial flying....but do need ro takeoff in 350-400ft. I will not use the top tank, and will be keeping it as light as possible.

Thanks!
David
Old 10-29-2020, 04:32 AM
  #1962  
patf
My Feedback: (4)
 
patf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,835
Received 37 Likes on 31 Posts
Default

C'mon David you know yourself and F-16s better than that! A modern 200 weighs the same as an older 160 and is typically more efficient!
Old 10-29-2020, 05:37 AM
  #1963  
FalconWings
My Feedback: (57)
 
FalconWings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,974
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by patf View Post
C'mon David you know yourself and F-16s better than that! A modern 200 weighs the same as an older 160 and is typically more efficient!
I'm also a minimalist, and do have a strong Rhino 160 already. I would also prefer nothnot having to carry that giant top tank, which you would certainly have to with larger engine.

Like comparing an old F-16A with a modern block F-16. Modern has more umph........but the lighter A will draw circles around it. 😊

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.