Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Newbie armed with SM FA-18 Hornet?

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Newbie armed with SM FA-18 Hornet?

Old 01-04-2007, 02:04 PM
MAX NITRO
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie armed with SM FA-18 Hornet?

Hi Guy's
I have been flying fixed wing aircraft for a while, about 15 years, all sorts from slow high wing type to fast mid wing BUT the last 5 or so years I have been flying 90 size 3D Heli's exclusively.
I would like to expand my horizons in the R/C arena and do something i have always wanted to do and fly scale Turbine Jets.
Now I am no newbie to R/C in general but I have never flown a Turbine Jet. I have my sights fixed on a Skymaster 1/8 FA-18 Hornet powered by a Jetcat P-120.
Am I dreaming or should I give it a go? what are the traps with the Hornet for first time flyers?
some guidance would be much appreciated.
Cheers
Dave
Old 01-04-2007, 02:09 PM
Bucshot
My Feedback: (16)

Default RE: Newbie armed with SM FA-18 Hornet?

Dave,
I'm a jet newbie myself so I can't offer a whole lot of advice other than my limited experience. I went out and got a bunch of stick time on fast prop planes before I even considered a jet. A real eye opeining experience was my Combat Models F-16 pusher! You really get the sense of response lag time and hot landings. You need to be comfortable with both if you plan to fly jets. Right now I'm building a ducted fan F-18 which I'm still considering a jet trainer. My goal is to fly turbines but not until I feel I'm ready.

Hope this has been helpful.

B
Old 01-04-2007, 02:21 PM
BlackCloud
My Feedback: (12)

Dave,