Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

JetCat P70 Strip

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

JetCat P70 Strip

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2009, 01:21 PM
Turbiner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default JetCat P70 Strip

When the bearings became noisy on my P70 I decided to replace them myself. I am no expert on turbines, but I have built a Wren kit and have 20 years experience of model engines. The strip is not difficult. I have just a few tips and info.

Make sure you have a very clean workspace before you start.
Take photos as you take it apart, this will help when you rebuild.
Mark the positions of the compressor and turbine wheels and replace them in the same position.
The mainshaft nuts are both left hand thread.
Probably the most difficult part to remove is the turbine wheel, it is very tight, you will need a press or some kind of puller to remove it.
When replacing the turbine wheel on the shaft I suggest you put the mainshaft in the fridge for a couple hours and heat up the turbine wheel, this way it will fit very easily.
Note the which way around the bearings are, the preload has to be applied on the correct side of the bearing.

If anyone has rebuilt a JetCat, maybe they could add some useful tips or info.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay73853.jpg
Views:	973
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	1263633   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc93299.jpg
Views:	1060
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	1263634   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd82734.jpg
Views:	1225
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	1263635   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qj19795.jpg
Views:	2145
Size:	88.1 KB
ID:	1263636   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sd44259.jpg
Views:	1533
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	1263637   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ct16885.jpg
Views:	1895
Size:	92.1 KB
ID:	1263638   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wy49217.jpg
Views:	5976
Size:	69.1 KB