Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Futaba 14mz flap question

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Futaba 14mz flap question

Old 12-07-2009, 05:54 PM
  #1  
jason
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,361
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 14mz flap question

I'm trying to set up Ultra bandit flaps and can't seem to get the radio do what I want it to. I have the 12mm metal arm supplied and BVM say to have it pointing at the rear of the wing when flaps are down to relieve the load from the servo. Thing is, using the offset on the flap screen I don't seem to be able to adjust the centre position (take off) without also adjusting the up position also and when I go into the ATV to move the flap back up it seems the offset has reduced the amount I can adjust to the point where I can't get the flap back up to flying position. I have tried different servo spline positions and it just won’t work. All I want is to have the three positions independently adjustable and any adjustment not to effect the other two positions. I know I can do this in a mix but surly I'm missing something with the 14mz?

Thanks in advance

Jason

Old 12-07-2009, 06:04 PM
  #2  
Malcolm Kay
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 599
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

Jason phone my good buddy Steve Elias... he will set you straight how to do it.... can't publish his phone number here but if you e-mail or PM i'll give to you...MK
starrjet2 @aol.com
Old 12-07-2009, 06:16 PM
  #3  
747drvr
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
747drvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: DundasOntario, CANADA
Posts: 1,346
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

Two words .... offset mixing . You'll be amazed what it can do for you after you figure it out !

Marc
Old 12-07-2009, 06:17 PM
  #4  
nxtdoor
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 406
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

I just went thru this. Assign to a 3-pos switch. Set your takeoff flap as the centered position of the servo. Use end point adjustments to detemine the landing flap location and flap up position. Works great.
Don't try to use ATV.
It is only a load when down. You don't leave flaps down long enough to worry about the load.

Jeff
Old 12-07-2009, 06:38 PM
  #5  
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,958
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

Hi Jason, try going to the flap setting screen in the model menu, you can do everything you want there. (thats what it's for!)

m
Old 12-08-2009, 01:30 PM
  #6  
jason
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,361
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

Marc
where's this offset mixing on the 14?

Mick
I can't get the required movement using that screen.

Nexdoor
tried that, have the switch assigned but using end point adjustments also adjust the centre point.

Malcolm
I have Steves number but he used a P.B Royal and I guess he used that to make the adjustments.




Any other ideas while I search for the offset mixing Marc talks about?
Jason

Old 12-08-2009, 02:32 PM
  #7  
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,958
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

Jason, the offset mix is the little icon with a line through a square in the program mix (page 81 of the manual).

I have to say you are making this difficulty more complicated tha necessary.

A longer arm my be the answer, remember the BVM setup is for JR.

m
Old 12-08-2009, 02:51 PM
  #8  
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,958
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

Jase, I seem to recall I made some small geometric change to the horns on my Ultra to improve flap geometry.

m
Old 12-08-2009, 06:21 PM
  #9  
jason
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,361
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

Mick, it's all sorted. Increasing the limit up from the default 135% on the ATV screen allowed me to get the right amount of throw without doing any "small geometric chages to improve the flap geometry"

How the hell did you build a Ultra is was it 38 hours? I have spent well over that and I have hardly started the thing! I hope you did a proper job[:-]

See you Friday.

Jason
Old 12-08-2009, 07:06 PM
  #10  
mick15
 
mick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,958
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Futaba 14mz flap question

Obviously the batteries in your magic wand are flat!!

m



na, cant make it boo hoo

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.