RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   DSM2 / JR / Spektrum Guru's.... (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/10558923-dsm2-jr-spektrum-gurus.html)

invertmast 06-05-2011 09:38 PM

DSM2 / JR / Spektrum Guru's....

I'm going to say this first off..

DO NOT say ANYTHING about "go to futaba". I dont wan't to hear it, i've got my reasons for not using futaba. If you like it, i'm glad for you, but personally they will never see a dime of my money again after the way they treated me with the last radio system i owned from them. so please, do me and anyone else who may be interested in this thread a favor and don't start another brand war.

So i have been using the Spektrum / JR DSM2 technology for the past 4 years w/o many incidents. I have always been careful to keep RF noise critical components separated (just like you would with 72) and have been rewarded with very low antenna loss counts on my models (less than 100 between 4 antenna's in the jets). Today was the first flight of the season for my Euro-sport after some modifications and changes (added speed-brake, relocation of fuel-pump, UAT, etc), electrically everything has stayed the same.
For the past 2 season's the most antenna packet loss' this airplane has ever seen was 150ish between the 4. Today on the flight, I had Zero packet losses for all the antennas (3, one of them went kaput on me), Zero Fades, and 422 Holds, all in the 8 minute flight routine.
I have always been under the impression a "hold" is essentially a "fail-safe". And in order to get a hold, you have to have a consecutive number of Fades, and in order to have a Fade(s) you have to have consecutive packet loss' between all of the antenna's.