RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   Telemetry Flame-out Detector for Twin Turbines .. for less than $5 (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/11399981-telemetry-flame-out-detector-twin-turbines-less-than-%245.html)

stevekott 02-06-2013 12:27 PM

Telemetry Flame-out Detector for Twin Turbines .. for less than $5

I have a Yellow Aircraft F-14 that I have been working on for several months. It's powered by twin P-70's. I've had a flame-out on my Flash before and was lucky enough to land without incident. But a flame-out on the twin, that scares me a little.

I've gotten a lot of helpful information recently on these two threads.

www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11390404/anchors_11390404/mpage_1/key_/anchor/tm.htm#11390404
www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_11385864/anchors_11385864/mpage_1/key_/anchor/tm.htm#11385864

It seems like the guys in the know would really like some way to determine a flameout on a twin other than a spin/stall mishap.

The jury is out on wether an indication alone is enough to save the plane but it would at least help you avoid doing possibly the WRONG thing.

We discussed EGT sensors. RPM sensors and measuring the fuel pump voltage.

I think I've come up with a simple solution that takes advantage of our existing $450 flame out detectors .. The ECU's. It seems like one of their main purposes is to detect a flame out and shut everything down.

I've elected to use the Smoker Valve output as my engine running signal out. It would be just as easy to use the Fuel solenoid voltage out.

The Jetcat ECU is set up so that when the turbine is running normally it outputs a +5 volt output for a solenoid to enable a smoke pump. This is to enable smoke oil to spray only when the motor is lit and running. If the motor quits, so does the +5 Volts.

So that is the "running normally" signal, the +5 volts from the smoke pump.