RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   New to Jets, got an ULTRALIGHTNING (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/11587707-new-jets-got-ultralightning.html)

skymaster68 10-02-2013 05:59 AM

New to Jets, got an ULTRALIGHTNING

Hey Guys, I'm new to jets and got a CARF Ultra lightning, have been flying imac and giant gassers for several years now and I made this step up on the hobby.

http://www.carf-models.com/public_ca...riant&proId=12

As I said, I got the UL, I'll be running a P180 RX wish I have on my hands now, will run:

CARF LG
PWR Box Comp SRS
JR8711 all around
Jet tronics Brake, retract and door sequence valves
GBR medium UAT

well the intention of this thread, is to ask for your opinion on what I got, what should I get what I might be missing and need to get to make this beauty fly...
You info will be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Jim Cattanach 10-02-2013 06:27 AM

My view is, you should start jets with something cheaper & easier to manage. Get a cheap Boomerang & fly it till you get used to landing jets.
I shudder at all them $$$ being lost.

patrnflyr 10-02-2013 06:31 AM

+1

I was just about to post that.

David Searles 10-02-2013 06:48 AM

Congratulations and welcome to the community!

The UL is an awesome performing jet. Equipped as you have it, performance should be great. Therein lies the potential hiccup. With a P-180 the UL is capable of speeds far beyond anything you are accustomed too! Even though the UL can and will slow down quite well for landing it will require technique to accomplish it, that again you are not familiar with.

I too would recommend that you acquire a Boomerang type aircraft to get your feet wet before diving into the deep end of the UL.

Best of luck,

David S

Andrew Bird 10-02-2013 06:53 AM