RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   New member, lots of questions!!! JPX turbine (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/11600094-new-member-lots-questions-jpx-turbine.html)

thedeerhunter 06-09-2014 10:44 AM

New member, lots of questions!!! JPX turbine

Hi everyone, I recently took a risk and purchased a used JPX T250 turbine off of ebay. I am new to turbine engines and have a few questions... any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm in desperate need of some education by those that have been around jet engines.

1. Does anyone have a manual for this engine? can't find one online anywhere.

2. Anyone know the spark plug size/code?

3. There are 3 oil ports, I'm assuming 2 are oil ports and one is a pressure return? How do I tell which is which?

4. I pulled the engine apart and inspected the bearings... they looked/felt fine. Does anyone know if the engine will need to be rebalanced since I took off the front compressor vane and rebolted it?

5. How much pressure during air start should I use at the regulator, i'm guessing in the 100psi range?

I have many more questions, but these would be a good start.

Thanks everyone:)

Dave

ravill 06-09-2014 12:12 PM

1. Can't help you there. I think you purchased poorly. I've never seen anyone use this brand engine before.

2. Spark plug? Do you mean glow plug. Any glow plug will work, but in my experience, colder ones may last longer, though they all do.

3. Oil port? Jeez. I've never seen a turbine with an oil port.

4. Yes, unless you replaced the items to their precise positions before undoing, you will need to rebalance it.

5. Yes, you need the pressure but I've started engines with 80 psi. But more importantly, you need volume. 5+ gallon air compressor.

Welcome and good luck!

Dr Honda 06-09-2014 12:22 PM

That's an oldie.