RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   TBM DV8R 83" Wingspan ? boomerang sprint ect help needed (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/11624040-tbm-dv8r-83-wingspan-boomerang-sprint-ect-help-needed.html)

emilsanto 11-26-2015 10:32 PM

TBM DV8R 83" Wingspan ? boomerang sprint ect help needed

Hello
I am thinking of jetting into a turbine jet. there is a club close by that fly's jets a lot.
I have been flying for over 15 years. mostly 3d planes 50cc+.

I have seen a few cheaper models on the web. a Super Falcon V3. not sure about the quality
being its only 629.00 with retracts.? . the boomerang sprint model. about 900.00 and the
JSM Xcalibur sport. 850-900 also. I have been looking at the TBM DV8R 83" Wingspan
because of its size appeals to me but I heard from someone that there hard to land or bounce a lot.?
does anyone have one of these and can you share your setups with me. I would be grateful .

or if you think the others are a better flying plane or better quality. please let me know you thought
thank you

Dave Wilshere 11-26-2015 11:52 PM

They all have merits. Deciding what turbine size you want and whether this will be moved on to another airframe is a good way of choosing. Airframes like the std Xcalibur are limited in turbine size.
The Super Falcon will need some modelling skills to get reliable, but you have been around a while so should be able to cope with that with advice from the locals. Also before choosing a turbine talk with them, see what they use. If they have no trouble its a good measure of the equipment-also they will know how to sort the little issues that can occur when operating a complicated turbine model.