RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   Micro Turbojet Engine Beginner - need help (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/11676643-micro-turbojet-engine-beginner-need-help.html)

alialkayyali 03-23-2020 11:26 AM

Micro Turbojet Engine Beginner - need help

So just as an overview, it is my first time building a model turbojet, and I am basing it off the model in Thomas Kamp’s Model Jet Engine Texbook. In the textbook there are some bits that are unexplained. Firstly, in the engine; there are spacer discs on each end of the shaft - what are they used for and where shoul they be placed? Secondly, the book says to use a preload spring only on the rear bearing. Shouldn’t that also apply for the front bearing?

BarracudaHockey 03-23-2020 01:03 PM

I deleted your duplicate post, you only need one thread per question, this is the best area to get you a proper answer in any case.

Ruizmilton 03-23-2020 07:31 PM

No pre load on the front bearing, using a pre load assumes the bearing can travel axially on a tunnel, you can see, by the design of the engine, that is not possible on the front of the engine.

Do you have a schematic on the engine? It is necessary to understand what is being called a spacer on the text.

Designs I have seen using a spacer, they may serve different purposes, it could be to aid in the front bearing lubrication, (this behind the bearing), or to properly align the compressor (front of the bearing) not to reduce shaft play between bearings, the designs I have seen using spacer discs or washers to eliminate play, do not use pre-load.

Basically, using a pre load eliminates the need for axial play washers or discs, but you may still have a spacer, probably in front of the front bearing, behind the compressor

it all depends on the engine design

alialkayyali 03-24-2020 12:54 AM