RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   BVM F 16 (original) (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/11681927-bvm-f-16-original.html)

David Gladwin 08-22-2020 01:56 AM

BVM F 16 (original)

About 20 years ago I built an original BVM F 16, did the turbine conversion but never flew it.

Its been sat in my workshop ever since, other projects overtook it.

I am thinking of installing my Xicoy X 45, a truly superb engine, which would actually give a better t/w ratio ( the X45 installation would very light) than my JPX T 33 combination of 20 years ago.

Anyone with experience of this jet, fan or turbine care to comment?

RCFlyerDan 08-22-2020 04:32 AM

Hello David,

I had one about twelve plus years ago. I didn’t build it, but bought it off of a guy at the field having financial issues. It was my first turbine with an air start Mamba. In the video I’m still learning to start it. Truly a pain in the butt. There’s a guy in the beginning with a good Southern drawl that says, “sounds like the front wheel is stuck”. Cracks me up. The jet weighed about 22# with an 11# thrust engine. So very heavy wing loading. I had been flying a BVM DF Maverick with BVM.91 and.96, so wasn’t my first jet, just first turbine. As you are aware, the F16 can fly slower than it can land. The video is like my fifth or sixth flight. I didn’t have anyone to help me with jets. So I learned by the road of hard knocks. Because I wasn’t used to flying turbines, I got behind the power curve as soon as the nose came up to expose the gear door (drag brakes). I about lost it on the first approach. Had I not put the gear up, I would have lost it. The final approach, my knees were knocking and knew that I was low on fuel and had to land. Still got behind the power curve.