RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Jets (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/)
-   -   Need advice - considering a JetJoe (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-jets-120/9565682-need-advice-considering-jetjoe.html)

webtech 03-08-2010 08:43 PM

Need advice - considering a JetJoe

Hi guys, I need some advice. First off I am a turbine newbie and am purchasing my first turbine engine. I have a Velox in need of a power plant and want to know if a JJ1400 would be enough power to fly this plane at a decent speed. Is this engine reliable? Seems to be priced pretty low in relation to other turbines in it's class. Would anyone recommend this turbine? I don't want to waste money by trying to save money. Your input is greatly appreciated.

-Webtech

SDCrashmaster 03-08-2010 08:47 PM

RE: Need advice - considering a JetJoe

I would do a search on here for Jet Joe prior to making your decision.
There has been an over abundance of information discussed at great length here on RCU.
Very smart comment you made regarding "don't want to waste money trying to save money"!

lov2flyrc 03-08-2010 08:51 PM

Dont waste your money or your time, chances of an engine that runs out of the box is slim and chances of one lasting for any acceptable amount of time is nil...
Want a good, solid engine at a reasonable price with LIFETIME warranty?.... see [link=http://dreamworksrc.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=243]HERE[/link]

Do some research on both engine brands, I think you will see the difference for yourself ;)

joeflyer 03-08-2010 08:58 PM

Read the Jet Joe threads here on RCU. The answer should be obvious. If money is an issue you'd be much better off buying a good used Wren, JetCat, or Jet Central engine.

I-NAV 03-08-2010 09:53 PM

1 Attachment(s)
If you buy one, don't stand in the plane of rotation of the turbine wheel...

AndyAndrews 03-08-2010 09:58 PM

ORIGINAL: lov2flyrc