Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Monster Trucks
Should I upgrade engine on Traxxas Stampede 2wd? >

Should I upgrade engine on Traxxas Stampede 2wd?

Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Should I upgrade engine on Traxxas Stampede 2wd?

Old 12-29-2016, 03:33 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
traindude2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I upgrade engine on Traxxas Stampede 2wd?

I have a Traxxas gravedigger (which is a Traxxas Stampede 2wd) and I want to upgrade the engine. The guy at my local hobby stop said that my best bet was a castle motor that costs around $100 (I haven't bought it yet so I don't know the hp... or whatever unit of measurement RC cars use) but is it really worth it? I love racing around the dirt track at the Hobbystop and I want to make sure the upgrade I'm about to make is worth the $100. Also, they guy said he could get someone to put the engine in my truck for free, which is nice.
Old 12-29-2016, 04:49 PM
  #2  
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

The upgrade you are talking about is a "brushless upgrade" Changing over from a brushed motor to brushless will give you a longer motor life , use your battery power a little more efficiently ,and will give you more power especially if you ever upgrade to run a LiPo battery
They probably showed you the Castle Sidewinder system. I would recommend the Sidewinder SCT 3800kv system . It will be fast but not be crazy fast and will have a lot of low speed torque.
Old 12-29-2016, 04:58 PM
  #3  
 
RustyUs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 4,897
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

Which $100 motor are you thinking of getting?

You're not serious with that signature are you? That's just not right.
Working on your own RC is part of the "experience".
Old 12-29-2016, 05:53 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
traindude2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It's sort of a joke but I don't want to spend $100 and two hours just to break my truck.
Old 12-29-2016, 11:29 PM
  #5  
Moderator
My Feedback: (1)
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,197
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Really only takes about 10 minutes to change out a motor, maybe 30 tops for a new guy. I'll type up a whole guide for you tomorrow if you need it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.