Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Monster Trucks
Reload this Page >

stopping engine w/ piston at bdc?

Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

stopping engine w/ piston at bdc?

Old 01-25-2004, 08:25 PM
beeftip

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stopping engine w/ piston at bdc?

Here's a total newbie question. But that's because I'm a total newbie. How do I make sure the piston is at the bottom of it's stroke, or bottom dead center, when I stop the car? I'm sure that if I had a new RTR or kit to look at, the instructions would tell me how. But as my MT does not yet exist (at least not in my posession) I am curious. Is there a marking on the flywheel or something? I know on my real car that TDC is clearly marked on the damper, or is it the thing the damper is connected to? I probably have no business owning a nitro engine....
Old 01-25-2004, 08:54 PM
mecky33

Default RE: stopping engine w/ piston at bdc?

There is no marking on a nitro engine though you could put one. If you ever take your flywheel off, the mark could get misaligned though. The easiest way to do it is to take off th glow plug and look at it. Also, you could take off the glow plug and practice feeling with the pullstarter to get a feel for the bottom of the stroke, then you dont have to keep pulling out the glowplug. Also on your real car, there is a timing degree marking set on the front of the engine block and there is a timing mark on the damper that you line up with the apropriate degree of timing on the engine block. And as for not owning a nitro engine, everyone can own one. you just need to ask if you have questions, that is what we are here for.
Old 01-25-2004, 09:00 PM
beeftip

Thanks for the answer and for your patience.