Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

A little lost

Old 01-26-2004, 05:58 PM
varsitypride

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A little lost

I'm new to R/C trucks, not new to forums, so I searched quite a while but wasn't able to find much information... so I'm hoping one of you guys can help me out.

For my first truck, I bought myself a thunder tiger ssk 1/10 4wd nitro monster truck. Maybe not the best out there, but it was a good price and a good beginner car, I think.

I already broke and replaced a few things... so I know a little about the truck, but I'm still relatively new.

Anyways, the problem i'm currently having is getting the damn thing started. I can get it going for some time if the wheels have no load on them but sooner or later it dies when trying to adjust the carburator. I was running it yesterday unable to find a correct mix (cloudy cold day) but at least I was able to get it working just fine.

Now, I have a bit of an inkling of the problem. When I pull on the starter... the wheels turn. I dont recall the truck doing this before. When I would be trying to get it started before, It would sit still and when I'd get the engine going, it would take a little bit of work but I could get it to idle sitting still. Now the wheels turn when I try to pull the string, so when the truck is on the ground and i'm trying to get it to go, the car moves forward on every pull. When I do get it going (with no load on the wheels, basically suspended in the air) the wheels will turn, i'll get it to slow down by adjusting the throttle and when i put it on the ground it dies instantly.

I think maybe my clutch is stuck? It wont disengage and let the car idle without the wheels turning. Maybe this is a terrible guess but I'm hoping you guys can lead me the way. Thanks for the help in advance

-Cris
Old 01-26-2004, 05:59 PM
mecky33

Default RE: A little lost

Sounds like you broke a clutch spring or melted the clutch to the bell.