Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Failsafe for monster trucks?

Old 03-05-2005, 08:48 AM
  #1  
snowbl!nd
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
snowbl!nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,779
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Failsafe for monster trucks?

Hi all,

Does anyone use a failsafe in their trucks?

I'm planning on buying a thunder tiger MT-A4 in the near future, and also a 5cell reciever pack.
I have a failsafe in my nitro touring car but do i need one for the monster truck?, i don't know anyone who has one in a truck but it would seem like a sensible idea. Is there any reason why you would'nt use one?

Thanks, Snowbl!nd.
Old 03-05-2005, 09:20 AM
  #2  
paedbo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, CT
Posts: 524
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

i use one, wouldnt want to go without it, i'm waiting for venom smart temp's to come out so i can upgrade to that.
Old 03-05-2005, 09:37 AM
  #3  
Richie-EB4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,178
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

IMHO.........these are an insurance policy against anything that might go wrong...........there is NO reason not to use one...........JMO

Good Luck with your new truck.
Old 03-05-2005, 09:46 AM
  #4  
Groundforce-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vandergrift, PA
Posts: 666
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

Yup..like they say, failsafes are a must, period. Also, a return spring on the carb helps if you should loose the battery connection, as a failsafe wont work without power.
Old 03-05-2005, 10:03 AM
  #5  
snowbl!nd
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
snowbl!nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,779
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

Thanks guys!

What features should i look for in a failsafe? Do i need one which "triggers" when the batery pack falls below a certain voltage or will i notice beforehand - eg, slower servo travel on steering.
Old 03-05-2005, 10:06 AM
  #6  
Richie-EB4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,178
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

As far as i know they all do much the same thing...........I use the Ofna micro failsafe on both my truck and buggy.
Old 03-07-2005, 05:43 AM
  #7  
mrfisse
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Loddekopinge, SWEDEN
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

You dont need a failsafe that cuts out when the voltage on the bat pack in the car runs low, when the acc is runing low you will notice that the car stuters when you trhottle when you drive the car some distance from you due to the low voltage reduces the receviers capability to "understand" the transmitters commands and thus activates the failsafe on and off. Then you know its time to change the batterys.
Old 03-07-2005, 07:50 AM
  #8  
cfetter79
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: lancaster, PA
Posts: 161
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

I use the Duratrax one, it's like 17 bux.. and works like a charm.
Old 03-07-2005, 12:36 PM
  #9  
snowbl!nd
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
snowbl!nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,779
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

I can get a failsafe without low voltage cut-off for £10 ($20) at my LHS, instead of splashing out an extra £5 for a different failsafe with a function i will never need to use. I'm sure i can find another use for the money i safe...

Thanks for the info guys!
Old 03-07-2005, 02:26 PM
  #10  
ray77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: , NORWAY
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

I just bought a failsafe from GWS. I believe it's called FS-1. It has both interference and low battery safety. This piece did not cost much, was easy to install and adjust and to me this seems like the smartest thing to spend money on.
During my absolute first break in run with my new TNX, the truck took a ride of its own because of interference. Never again! I hope. You may have bad luck, even with a failsafe, but it helps 90% towards a sure thing.
I was lucky because the throttle on my truck did not "self adjust" too much, so I was able to catch up with the truck and grab it.
This was the first time my truck was taken off the stand, after idling/ breaking in.
Get one now, that's my advice, but don't forget to set it right! It's possible to set it the wrong way, so that the truck gets full throttle instead of brake, if you loose the signal.
Old 03-07-2005, 04:17 PM
  #11  
snowbl!nd
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
snowbl!nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,779
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

Ray77,

I have the GWS FS-2 in my thunder tiger ts-4 (nitro on-road) - it is the same as the FS-1 but does not have the low voltage cut off.

I will probably get another FS-2 for the mt, as i know how to set it and if it gets broken i can just use the one from my car (putting it back in the car when i want to drive it though!).

Thanks
Old 03-07-2005, 04:32 PM
  #12  
metroman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: , CA,
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

Definately get one, spend about $20-30 bucks now and safe $_______ later. If you are into racing or just serious about this hobby and money isn't a issue I would suggest getting the Specktrum Radio system cause it has one built in to the receiver, plus all the dother benefits you get from the system. Good Luck getting one.
Old 03-07-2005, 04:58 PM
  #13  
cenracer1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: hackettstown, NJ
Posts: 2,042
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

a failsafe is a must... It's too bad most manufacturers don't include it with the truck but thats to keep cost down.... I have a venom unit which sets the brakes when it senses signal problems.... I don't have any brand preference, but I have one on all my nitro trucks and I don't run any of them without them... Alot of tracks won't let you run without them either... Spend the 20-30 dollars once for piece of mind....
Old 03-07-2005, 07:58 PM
  #14  
sonicman99
Member
 
sonicman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Santa Maria, CA,
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

I've got a Venom Fail Safe myself (in my MGT)...works flawlessly.
Old 03-08-2005, 02:55 PM
  #15  
rcblaze
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: westpalm, FL
Posts: 649
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Failsafe for monster trucks?

It's a must. And get the one that has the battery warning. I'd much rather my truck stop before the batterys run out rather then have low power and still running. The fail safe should engage the brake and stop the truck once out of range or if you have a problem. Keep in mind low bats mean sluggish responce and we can't have that now can we.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.