Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Monster Trucks
Reload this Page >

Hello, I'm new and will take any help that can be given

Community
Search
Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Hello, I'm new and will take any help that can be given

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2009, 11:53 AM
chefnatewright

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello, I'm new and will take any help that can be given

Hello everyone, my name is Nate and I am new to nitro rc trucks. I just received, through a trade, a Tmaxx with a hpi motor from a savage. Its not running right now, but from the research I have done and what this guy has told me, it only needs a crystal change, glow plug and fuel.

Any and all comments, help. advice or interest in my little project would be greatly appreciated.

Old 04-13-2009, 12:48 PM
Barber420
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Hello, I'm new and will take any help that can be given

Don't buy Top Fuel or Blue Thunder Nitro, they both suck. Run Nitrotane, Sidewinder, O'Donnel, or Byron's. Make sure and only run "race" formula nitro, the "rtr" formula stuff usually has too much oil content. McCoy and O'Donnell glow plugs are both good options for those. Good luck with it!
Old 04-13-2009, 01:35 PM
rcnitrohead

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

X2 on everything Barber 240 said. Don't use Sport or R2R formulas as the oil will kill one way bearings. Sounds like this T-maxx is setup with a BB conversion, I just hope the gears hold up to the load.

Good luck and welcome!
Old 04-13-2009, 02:07 PM
chefnatewright

Yes it is set up with a BB Conversion. The guy I got this from said he owned and raced 33 different trucks and just sold them all. He didn't really tell me anything about it except for the glow plug and the roto start.
Old 04-13-2009, 04:00 PM
derrick05

Good Luck
Old 04-13-2009, 10:22 PM
nitrojimbo

Hey Barber, just answer one thing for me. What's wrong with Blue Thunder? I run it and it works really good.