RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Monster Trucks (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-monster-trucks-160/)
-   -   New to rc and need recommendations please (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-monster-trucks-160/11625252-new-rc-need-recommendations-please.html)

Rummy12 01-03-2016 03:47 PM

New to rc and need recommendations please

I've been researching for a while now and I just don't know what's best for me. I'm completely new to this but I know I want a monster truck preferably with a brushless motor(I've heard they are faster and less maintenance) and 4 wheel drive. Does anyone have any recommendations for what the right purchase would be for a beginner who wants to spend 300-400 dollars? Anything will help! Thanks

67Stingrayj 01-04-2016 05:12 PM

Rummy12,
I too am new to the hobby. I was looking for weeks before I pulled the trigger on my ECX Ruckus. I too wanted a 4WD, brushless monster truck. There are some good ones out there too. After looking at the local shop, I saw the ECX Ruckus and bought it right then and there. It's water proof, tough and hell, looks really mean and is bigger than the competition. I love it so far, but is is a beginners truck. For the money ($170) you can't go wrong. Here is a video that gives a pretty good review. I like tinkering with these things as much as I like driving them so I'm looking forward to making upgrades. After all, I didn't go with 4WD because it would have just been a bigger strain on the battery and these Monster Trucks can go just about anywhere you want them to. ECX does make a 4WD version and I think it's brushless too. If I could have afforded it, I probably would have gone with that. I here the Traxxas Stampede 4x4 Monster Truck is a crowd favorite, but I couldn't get past the funny looking stance.