RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Monster Trucks (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-monster-trucks-160/)
-   -   want to be New To NITRO..no flame war (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-monster-trucks-160/7205981-want-new-nitro-no-flame-war.html)

What-A-Rusty 03-10-2008 08:32 PM

want to be New To NITRO..no flame war

I have had few TRAXXAS products all electric. Recently back to RC bought a Rusty and then all my friends went and bought Nito MTs. 1 S-MAXX, T-MAXX, and 2 REVO's. I need something to bash with them. My budget is about 400 and want RTR. There are advantages to TRAXXAS. Like my LHS's have walls of parts, and so do my friends, but I'm leaning towards something different. I would like honest opinions and advice. I am looking into the MGT 4.6 SE, Savage 4.6, and T-MAXX.

Please let me know byond the RTR box what I need? (I am new to nitro)
What mods are neccessary to any of these optiuons?
Advatages and dissadvatages to each?
Any other viable options?
Any other batteries other than AAs or 6cell stick packs I got pleanty of?

It will be a basher with minimal track bashing, jumping and running into each other.

Snaut Rocket 03-10-2008 08:59 PM

RE: want to be New To NITRO..no flame war

Flame war!!!!

Just kidding.
You have some very good options there.
I would advise to cancle out the t maxx.
Look into a aftershock.
They all have there weakness and strong points.
You will be very happy wich ever one you choose except the tmaxx:D
for the stick packs as longs as there 6 vt they will work.
Go on you tube and check out the vids for a mgt and savage and see which one you like the best.
THe mgt is bigger and handles better IMO but I think the savage gots it beat in toughness but still is tough.
Hope this helps.

baboso 03-10-2008 09:04 PM

MGT 8.0 or SAVAGE XL

Much better versionz than their elders.

m_weinerich 03-10-2008 09:12 PM