Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

Traxxas Rustler, worth building?

Old 05-22-2016, 08:13 AM
Jimbo302

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Traxxas Rustler, worth building?

I bought a roller on a whim and am unsure of what to do with it. What model is it, what does it need, etc. Any advice is appreciated.
I am a complete newbie to nitro and traxxas.

Old 05-22-2016, 03:49 PM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts

It looks like it needs a shock tower and front body mount installed, front shocks, servos, radio (I'd pitch the old Traxxas radio), and an engine/pipe/header. Stock Traxxas parts are plentiful and pretty cheap. The expensive part will be the engine and exhaust system. Depending on your budget, you could go with a used engine, cheap plastic muffler, maybe find a used header cheap... A new engine will set you back $100-130 depending on which engine you choose to use, a new pipe will run you $20-50, and the headers are probably $20-25.

If if you have interest in rebuilding the truck and keeping it, I could sell you a used 3.3 engine for a decent price. You'd need to get a header and muffler though.
Old 05-23-2016, 08:05 AM
Jimbo302

Thank you very much. That is exactly the kind of informed evaluation I needed.

The 3.3 is the big engine, isn't it? I might be interested.
If buying used which should I look for?
Old 05-23-2016, 08:27 AM
1QwkSport2.5r

Originally Posted by Jimbo302
Thank you very much. That is exactly the kind of informed evaluation I needed.

The 3.3 is the big engine, isn't it? I might be interested.
If buying used which should I look for?