Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

Official HPI MT2 Thread

Old 08-18-2005, 04:25 PM
  #2501  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: AbingdonOxfordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

hi i've had my mt 2 rtr for several months now and love it!!! i thought it was about time I purchased some hop-ups, I was thinking of getting the following from tower hobbies

c o n t e n t s
Qty Unit Price Total ($) Part No. Product
24.90 24.90 ACC605 POWER Extractor for .12 to .18 engines
29.95 29.95 AGT301P High-Torque Ripple Tuned Pipe
21.95 21.95 HMT241V2 This high volume header is Port Matched
24.50 24.50 HMT510 125cc Fuel tank with stone filter
21.50 21.50 MS151690 Motor Saver Filter 1/8 Scale 90 Degree Base
Grand Total 122.80 (Note: Shipping not included.)

I would like a lot more torque in the lower revs and a little higher top end speed, any suggestions on anything else I may need or advice on the new bits would be appreciated, cheers :-)
Old 08-18-2005, 04:35 PM
  #2502  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


ORIGINAL: Olly P

hi i've had my mt 2 rtr for several months now and love it!!! i thought it was about time I purchased some hop-ups, I was thinking of getting the following from tower hobbies

c o n t e n t s
Qty Unit Price Total ($) Part No. Product
24.90 24.90 ACC605 POWER Extractor for .12 to .18 engines
29.95 29.95 AGT301P High-Torque Ripple Tuned Pipe
21.95 21.95 HMT241V2 This high volume header is Port Matched
24.50 24.50 HMT510 125cc Fuel tank with stone filter
21.50 21.50 MS151690 Motor Saver Filter 1/8 Scale 90 Degree Base
Grand Total 122.80 (Note: Shipping not included.)

I would like a lot more torque in the lower revs and a little higher top end speed, any suggestions on anything else I may need or advice on the new bits would be appreciated, cheers :-)
More torque and top end. You could gear it up for top end but would lose torque. Right off the bat to do both I would say another engine. Do you have the stock RTR T-.15? If so get an OS .15 CV-RX and that should do it. [8D]
Old 08-18-2005, 05:57 PM
  #2503  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: AbingdonOxfordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

yea i have the stock motor still, if i was going to get a new motor how much would a decent .18, that would easily fit set me back? any idea where i could get one from the uk? would i need to upgrade the dif etc? are they much quicker?

Sorry for all the questions, lol, kinda new too the whole nitro rc thing
Old 08-18-2005, 06:34 PM
  #2504  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

From Towers that ships to the UK has the OS .18 CV-RX for $109 US. The only thing else you will need is motor mounts that you can get for about $5 or $20 US. Sorry do not know what shipping would be but I am sure they can tell you.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGGP7&P=0

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXN373&P=ML

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXCLR3&P=7

I like the second motor mounts better as the have one extra mount hole for more support. I run the second one on both my MT and Rush.

If you want all out power get this but you would have to up grade your drive train to SS .18 standards. It will me my next engine!

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXHLV9&P=0

Old 08-18-2005, 06:35 PM
  #2505  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 112
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

olly p i would and am gonig to get an os 18cv-rx it costs $109.98 from the states and i would sejuest if u havent dun so allready to upgrade the diff set to the heavy duty gear set as i have done along with alloy front and rear arms alloy front and rear shock towers alloy front c-hub alloy rear hub alloy front top plate and alloy tank mount all of this came from the states as i cant get it anywere in the uk.
Old 08-18-2005, 07:03 PM
  #2506  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

If you have all that alloy you need a better motor to pull all that HP eating weight. I have been throw the alloy thing and take it from my experience do not waste your money. Not only on my MT but other RC vehicles I have. Because of alloy I ended up bending a chassis where if I would have had plastic I would have only had to replace an arm and that is only on of many cases. Yes you need to up grade your gears and drive train, which never hurts.
Old 08-18-2005, 07:08 PM
  #2507  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 112
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

46u i have had all my alloy parts now for about 2 months and havent had any problems yet (touch wood)but i will take ur advise into concideration thanks also do u have any vids of ur mt2 doin sum big jumps??[8D]
Old 08-18-2005, 07:40 PM
  #2508  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


ORIGINAL: rccrazynut

46u i have had all my alloy parts now for about 2 months and havent had any problems yet (touch wood)but i will take ur advise into concideration thanks also do u have any vids of ur mt2 doin sum big jumps??[8D]

It took me a lot longer then 2 months to find out. Let me know after a year. For me to tell you all the problems besides being heavy alloy cost me I would have to write a book. But if it makes you happy that is all that counts. [8D]
Old 08-20-2005, 02:26 PM
  #2509  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: AbingdonOxfordshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

cheers for all the advice, going to order a os 18cv-rx i think, is it worth getting a .21?
Old 08-20-2005, 03:31 PM
  #2510  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


ORIGINAL: Olly P

cheers for all the advice, going to order a os 18cv-rx i think, is it worth getting a .21?
If I wanted the power of the .21 I would get the OS .18 TZ which has as much HP as most .21 big blocks or more and it will drop right in. It is the highest HP small block made right now. Dyno at all most 2.3 HP. Just make sure you have all the best drive train parts!!! I hope to put one in mine shortly!
Old 08-20-2005, 08:13 PM
  #2511  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere, CANADA
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Wow a TZ in an MT2? It's crazy enough with the CVR-X. I think the TZ would be an overkill, wouldn't you? The truck would be some hard to control and like you mentioned, the drive train would get beat to s$$t! Just my opinion though

Cheers,
Bruno
Old 08-20-2005, 08:40 PM
  #2512  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: buena, NJ
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

hey every one

when i got my mt2 i didnt get a roto start with ti at the time i didnt have the moneyt o get the roto start so i just got the end for my drill to start it at times it starts right up but lately its been taken a long time any ideas ?? well i finally got my dad to get a nitro truck he got a monster truck
Old 08-20-2005, 08:42 PM
  #2513  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


ORIGINAL: Bruno

Wow a TZ in an MT2? It's crazy enough with the CVR-X. I think the TZ would be an overkill, wouldn't you? The truck would be some hard to control and like you mentioned, the drive train would get beat to s$$t! Just my opinion though

Cheers,
Bruno
I think the drive train will hold up when up dated to the .18 SS standards and with alloy clutch shoes. I am running a MT1 Racer that is just about up date to that point. It is hard to call it a MT1 as the only thing still MT1 is the upper deck and radio tray. I know others running the TZ in there MT2. I do agree it will me a hand full to handle but. But if the drive train holds up and I learn to handle the power it will be one bad ***** MT and all I can say look out Jato!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 08-20-2005, 08:46 PM
  #2514  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

ORIGINAL: yoyoer232

hey every one

when i got my mt2 i didnt get a roto start with ti at the time i didnt have the moneyt o get the roto start so i just got the end for my drill to start it at times it starts right up but lately its been taken a long time any ideas ?? well i finally got my dad to get a nitro truck he got a monster truck
I never have had a Rotostart and do not ever want one! If they will not start with a pull starter easily something is not right. I all so have never had a problem with one.
I all so have no problem starting my big block in my Savage either with a pull starter.
Old 08-20-2005, 08:58 PM
  #2515  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: buena, NJ
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

it dont have the pull start it has the roto start but i didnt get the roto start turnin thingy lol dotn knwo what u whould call it lol i guess ill get a pull start i was planin on it any way
Old 08-20-2005, 09:14 PM
  #2516  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Please do not take this wrong but with the way you type it is hard in figuring out what you are saying. My spelling is terrible that is why I use spell check. [8D]
Old 08-20-2005, 09:24 PM
  #2517  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: boylston, MA
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

ok i have the os .18 cv rx in my mt2 with a dynamite tuned pipe. it is gettin way to hot way to fast but if i try to richen it, it runs like crap. i have set it to fact. settings and it sill is crap. i have check and replaced fuel lines, what else could it be? it gets REALY Hot, its was broken in properly and is only 2 months old. so what do i do now?
Old 08-20-2005, 09:46 PM
  #2518  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Check for air leaks on the backing plate and where the carb goes in to the case. All so make sure the head is tight as well as the exhaust header to the engine. What fuel are you running and is it the same fuel you have always been running in it? When did the problem start? All so you say it is getting hot do you have a temperature gun? If so what are the temperatures? [8D]
Old 08-20-2005, 10:48 PM
  #2519  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: boylston, MA
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

i dont got a temp gage, im usin traxxas top fuel, i know its isnt the greatest but thats all my LHS has, i have been usin the top fuel forever. the problem started to day, i alo just put in the dynamite exaust in today and made sure the screws were tight. i just cleaned the cab and tightened it up yesterday. now my gas tank is the stock one but the primer broke off so i put in a screw and used teflon sealer to seal it but i dunno if it still leaks. what is the best way to tell if it leacks around the backing plate?anymore suggestions?the truck runs mint until it dies from bein to hot but its gettin real hot only after a couple of minutes.
Old 08-21-2005, 01:19 PM
  #2520  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: nyc, NY
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

What does a sway bar kit do? will i notice the difference? I'm basically running my Nitro MT Racer on the street. THaNKS
Old 08-21-2005, 04:23 PM
  #2521  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ipswich, suffolk, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 330
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

CrRider80 --
I think im right in saying that a Sway Bar helps to keep both wheels on the ground with even force when taking corners.
Basically, if you were turning hard right, the vehicles weight would be put onto the left hand side of the truck, meaning the right side would loose some traction. With Sway bars they help to keep the weight distribution (depending on what strength bars you have on) the same.
Personally I would not bother with them my self unless I was going into racing serious racing, but im just a back yard basher!!! So there not for me :-)

Correct me please if Im wrong as I too would like to know...., but that is my 2 pence!!!!
Old 08-21-2005, 05:24 PM
  #2522  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


ORIGINAL: ejmovies

CrRider80 --
I think im right in saying that a Sway Bar helps to keep both wheels on the ground with even force when taking corners.
Basically, if you were turning hard right, the vehicles weight would be put onto the left hand side of the truck, meaning the right side would loose some traction. With Sway bars they help to keep the weight distribution (depending on what strength bars you have on) the same.
Personally I would not bother with them my self unless I was going into racing serious racing, but im just a back yard basher!!! So there not for me :-)

Correct me please if Im wrong as I too would like to know...., but that is my 2 pence!!!!

That is a got explanation for sway bars to me and I agree. It helps keep the truck from rolling or trying to roll over. Works pretty good for on road so I have been told but I do not run on road so I do not know for fact. I tried some on my Rush off road but keep in mind it is two wheel drive and it made my over steer way to much.
Old 08-21-2005, 07:14 PM
  #2523  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

can someone show me a few closeup pictures of the MT2 with 145cc ofna tank installed? I had a good collision with a divider pole (came out of nowhere ) and cracked my tank. Just want to see if I should replace with OFNA, or stock.
Old 08-21-2005, 07:28 PM
  #2524  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

What ever you do, don’t go back with the little 75cc at least get the HPI 100cc tank. [8D]
Old 08-22-2005, 12:55 AM
  #2525  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

What are the dimensions of the Ofna fuel tanks both the 125 cc and the 145cc? [sm=confused.gif] They do not list them on Towers or Ofna web site. [:@]

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.