Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

Official HPI MT2 Thread

Old 09-17-2005, 10:03 AM
  #2751  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I am an OS man if you have not noticed. I do not have my TZ in yet as I started running on a track about 50 miles away and it is VERY technical. The OS .15 CV-RX I have in it now is just about too much for the track and I know the TZ will be. The TZ has the most HP of any small block made to date out of the box. Being OS always is very conservative on the HP rating even thaw claimed HP is only 1.8 when put on a dyno it was putting out all most 2.3HP.
Old 09-17-2005, 10:05 AM
  #2752  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Jbooker82 what header pipe are you running on your TZ? [8D]
Old 09-17-2005, 01:43 PM
  #2753  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

thats the conversion kit i used with my s-25 and it works great. didnt use the flywheel or anything else they included, just the mounts and hardware. it is an extremely tight fit though, and setting up the linkages took a little work but none the less it is an awesome motor for the truck. the only downside is you will likely mess up a diff or two and it has too much power on loose top surfaces. if you dont have tires that can dig in to get grip, you'll wind up doing alot of donuts. as far as exhausts, the stock savage exhaust won't work well with this truck because it is just too long and the tires will wind up rubbing it in hard right turns. this is the exhaust i am currently using and it fits just fine and sounds alot better than the stock http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXDVK7&P=Z
Old 09-17-2005, 01:50 PM
  #2754  
Senior Member
 
Bombers_410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dahinda, IL
Posts: 1,581
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

ok im thinking about gettting a mt2, can i put some masher 2000's on it or tires from the tmaxx. i like the mt2 but i would like for some more ground clearence.
Old 09-17-2005, 01:58 PM
  #2755  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I am sure it could be done some how but all you are going to do is put a lot of undo stress on every thing. All so you will have to gear it down and with the heavy tires and wheels it will be much slower. On top of that it will be much more top heavy. I suggest if you want a lot of ground clearance to get a Savage.

I tired some bigger 2.2 tires and did not like what it did to the handling.
Old 09-17-2005, 01:59 PM
  #2756  
Senior Member
 
Bombers_410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dahinda, IL
Posts: 1,581
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

would it still be faster than say a tmaxx?
Old 09-17-2005, 02:06 PM
  #2757  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Not with out trying to put something like a OS.18 TZ in it and then maybe not if you are talking about putting big tires on it. I have no problem going pretty much where I want to with my HPI MT just like it is but it is not a monster truck. My Savage will go where my MT will not.

You need to decide what type of driving and where you are going to drive. The get an apropret vhiecle for that type of driving. One thing for sure I would get something other then a T-Maxx.
Old 09-17-2005, 07:00 PM
  #2758  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Merna, NE
Posts: 1,105
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

46U

I am running the O.S. T1040 R70 tuned pipe. It is the one where the stinger has a 7mm Inside Diameter. I got the larger stinger daimeter because i figured that it would help this engine breath better.
[link]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXHGK8&P=0[/link]


Here is the motor saver air filter that i am running. It is as big at the cooling head on the engine.
[link]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0001P?&I=LXDBD5[/link]


I still had to stretch it over the carb.
Old 09-17-2005, 07:24 PM
  #2759  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I do not think you understand what I am asking. What header pipe are you running the pipe that goes between the engine and the expiation chamber, tuned pipe, muffler or what ever you want to call it.
Old 09-17-2005, 07:45 PM
  #2760  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: kouvola, FINLAND
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I have three sets of tires, and i had dirtbonz's too. One of my sets is "schumacher vee-2" tires. Same size as dirtbonz tires, but much worse grip. I have one set of rally tires (and wheels) too. Good handling and sharp steering - but only on onroad. I really like Masher2000's and they offer great grip and more (13+mm) ground clearance and much, MUCH more speed - but only with powerful engine! 18ss will not be powerfull enough for bigger tires.

Many different sizes and types of tires to choose, and you'll be able to drive almost anywhere with mt2. It is not best car anywhere, but good "all around" car.
Old 09-17-2005, 09:04 PM
  #2761  
My Feedback: (14)
 
Joebaby35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bay Shore, NY
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

46U the thing you are asking about is called an exhuast manifold which connects to the tuned pipe.
Old 09-17-2005, 09:11 PM
  #2762  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


ORIGINAL: Joebaby35

46U the thing you are asking about is called an exhuast manifold which connects to the tuned pipe.
Well some one needs to tell HPI there terms are wrong. See link and see what HPI call it.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0001P?&I=LXFAZ9

I all so know on a full size car it is called an exhaust header.
Old 09-17-2005, 09:21 PM
  #2763  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Actually either terminology is correct.
Old 09-18-2005, 02:39 AM
  #2764  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 212
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

if you wanna get really technical about it, on a full size car if stock is called an exhaust manifold. it is only when you get a performance exhaust manifold is it called a header which is classified by seperate runners per cylinder and joining at the collector instead of there being only one true runner.
none the less i know what you meant and in this case exhaust manifold and header pipe are one in the same which no matter what terminology is used, is easily distinguishable from a tuned pipe or muffler
Old 09-18-2005, 09:15 AM
  #2765  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Merna, NE
Posts: 1,105
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

46u sorry i just saw pipe and figured tuned pipe.

I run this header.
[link]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0001P?&I=LXFAZ9[/link]

I had to do some grinding on it and the ring where the spring hooks too. I pretty much cut a chunk of the ring out. 3/4 or 2/3 of the ring are left but it still holds and doesnt leak. The exhaust port on the enging seems pretty close to the pull stater. That is why i had to do some grinding and cutting to make it fit. It all works out ok though.
Old 09-18-2005, 09:29 AM
  #2766  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


ORIGINAL: jbooker82

46u sorry i just saw pipe and figured tuned pipe.

I run this header.
[link]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0001P?&I=LXFAZ9[/link]

I had to do some grinding on it and the ring where the spring hooks too. I pretty much cut a chunk of the ring out. 3/4 or 2/3 of the ring are left but it still holds and doesnt leak. The exhaust port on the enging seems pretty close to the pull stater. That is why i had to do some grinding and cutting to make it fit. It all works out ok though.
Thanks that is the one I have all so when I go to install my TZ.
Old 09-19-2005, 01:47 AM
  #2767  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

To Whom It May Concern,


Thank You so much for all your Input!!!! I'm a 1 Month RC'er and started to "HOP-UP" like
CRAZY!!! But Reading MOST of the THREAD, I've learn some Do's & Dont's!!! I like my MT 2,
and adding the O.S. .18 CVRX I'm very happy!!!!!! I'm trying to look at the MT 2 Photos in the Gallery, but Hopefully i'll get through the 17,000 photos in Between. Again THANK YOU!!
Old 09-19-2005, 05:43 AM
  #2768  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , FRANCE
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Hi Guys!

I'm new here and I'll be getting a MT2 SS kit soon!

I need to know if the kit inludes enough shims for proper diff shimming (ring gear\bevel gear) or if I need to get an extra shim set???

Any of you race the MT2 ona track?

Thanks!!
Old 09-19-2005, 09:42 AM
  #2769  
My Feedback: (-1)
 
vic2367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: milford, PA
Posts: 163
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

hi everyone,,,just got an mt2 ...was wondering what torque does the stock steering servo and throttle/brake servo has ? i believe they are futaba,,,i have a traxxas 2055 i believe has 80 oz of torque and a hitec with 99 oz of torque....wasd looking to replace the stock ones with these,,,anyone know ? thanks...
Old 09-19-2005, 10:27 AM
  #2770  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

myy ss kit came with enough shims. not sure if you really need them. my kit had a nice fit without any shims, but i put one in just in case (felt alittle loose)

where in france do you live? i lived in Paris for 3 years, and LOVED it

ORIGINAL: InLuvW\RC

Hi Guys!

I'm new here and I'll be getting a MT2 SS kit soon!

I need to know if the kit inludes enough shims for proper diff shimming (ring gear\bevel gear) or if I need to get an extra shim set???

Any of you race the MT2 ona track?

Thanks!!
Old 09-19-2005, 04:12 PM
  #2771  
My Feedback: (14)
 
Joebaby35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bay Shore, NY
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

InLuvW\RC

My kit came with about 8 shims, which were not enough, but lucky I had some extras from a ball diff I had laying around. Make sure you put the right amount of shims or you gears will be toast in a short time. I used all the shims in my kit and when I took it for the maiden run my front gears were clicking when I was on the brakes. I immediately took it apart and added more shims. Problem fixed.

vic2367

The stock servos are made by Airtronics and they only have something like 50oz of torque. They are good for the throttle but they suck for the steering duties. Do yourself a favor and replace it with a high torque High speed servo, you will be pleased with the results.
Old 09-19-2005, 05:00 PM
  #2772  
Senior Member
 
and_des's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: g, QC, CANADA
Posts: 642
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I had to put some extra shims on my differentials too. If you have a high torque servo do you self a favor and install it its going to be much better than the original.
Old 09-19-2005, 07:43 PM
  #2773  
My Feedback: (-1)
 
vic2367's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: milford, PA
Posts: 163
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

thanks joebaby, des an des , will do just that maybe on thurs morning ,,,thanks alot guys ....
Old 09-20-2005, 02:52 PM
  #2774  
My Feedback: (14)
 
Joebaby35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bay Shore, NY
Posts: 375
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Just make sure you need them!!!

Some gearboxes are different then others and not all of them need these shims. Check the manual it explains how to get it just right and how much play you should have between the gears.

The quality of HPI is not as good as say Losi or Team Associated there for you get inconsistencies with their products. The designed of the gearboxes sucks to begin with I wish HPI would address this issues instead of banddading it by providing shims. I am going to get the aluminum gear box cases one of these days and then I will not have to deal with this dam problem anymore.
Old 09-20-2005, 05:25 PM
  #2775  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: , NY, AMERICAN SAMOA (USA)
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

hey guys, i got a stock mt2 and i was wondering what are some good hop-ups for it?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.