Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

What should I get?

Old 04-07-2009, 11:07 PM
Love2FlyMN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should I get?

I've been flying airplanes for about the past 6 years and I want something to fly around the track they have at our flying field.. I was looking into a Nitro Rustler and I can get one used from a LHS that deals specifically with cars (Jerry's RC in Lino Lakes, MN). What other trucks should I look closer at that are comparable to the Rustler? I just want something to haul ass around with in the road, grass, or track. I don't have too much money to throw around at it either though and I can get a rustler RTR for $150 from Jerry's (last I talked to him) which I feel is a fairly good deal.
I used to own a nitro 4-tec which was a blast because it screamed down the road but it wasn't fun because I couldn't go off road with it so I traded it for an airplane.
Also, if I have the radio would I be better off buying just the car and buying an engine for it?? Thoughts? thanks.
Old 04-08-2009, 12:07 AM
GlassBullet
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: What should I get?

the rustler's number 1 competitor is probably the hpi firestorm. Those go for $250 new, and the Rustler is around $300 new. They are very similar in handling, speed, etc. But for 150$, that sounds like a good deal. Try to find out how much it's been used and what, if anything, is wrong with it
Old 04-09-2009, 11:29 AM
larryf333
My Feedback: (2)

I would look into getting a used Associated RC10GT2. Much better speed and handling.
Old 04-09-2009, 12:00 PM
NitroNate

The GT2 is not faster than the Rustler or the Firestorm...

The Firestorm offers more durability,reliablity,handling and its underpriced...The Rustler offers more speed and parts support...Your choice.
38-40mph 50mph

One thing about Traxxas is their durability issues...RPM(Aftermarket parts manufacture)makes a living because of this.
Old 04-09-2009, 12:51 PM