Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Painting, Detailing & Bodies
Reload this Page >

How do I use 3rd channel to turn on headlights?

Notices
RC Painting, Detailing & Bodies Discuss painting techniques, methods and materials. Also detailing and bodies

How do I use 3rd channel to turn on headlights?

Old 03-22-2006, 11:55 AM
  #1  
purple_car
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 202
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I use 3rd channel to turn on headlights?

I want to use the 3rd channel on my Traxxas TQ3 transmitter to turn on two LED headlights on my car.

So anyone know how I can take those three prongs on the wire that comes out of the 3rd channel on the receiver and use them to turn a switch on and off? Can I just use the red wire as the positive and the black as negative and wire the LEDs to those (with a resistor of course)? And will that allow the juice to start flowing to the LEDs when I hit the third channel switch?

Thanks for any information!
Old 03-22-2006, 12:09 PM
  #2  
purple_car
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 202
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How do I use 3rd channel to turn on headlights?

When I touch the red and black leads from the LEDs to the pins on the receivers third channel, the LED lights up nicely, but unfortunately doesn't turn off when I flick the 3rd channel switch on the controller. So I could use the 3rd channel on the receiver to power the LEDs but so far not to turn them on and off.

Any ideas on how to use the 3rd channel switch to turn em on and off?
Old 03-22-2006, 12:15 PM
  #3  
claccytim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: clacton-on-sea, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 243
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How do I use 3rd channel to turn on headlights?

you could try using a microservo to throw a micro switch
Old 03-22-2006, 07:49 PM
  #4  
ASSOCIATED_DRIVER
Senior Member
 
ASSOCIATED_DRIVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SAN DIEGO, CA CA
Posts: 1,063
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How do I use 3rd channel to turn on headlights?

The black and red from the receiver to the servo is the servos power supply, usually 5v to 6v which is always on, Its the white wire that sends the signal for the servo position.

I use 4 micro switches positioned at each end of the servo arm a pair for left and right(turn signals), one for reverse and one for front flashers (looks like running lights.) No need for a third servo.

Just to give you an idea.
Old 03-22-2006, 08:28 PM
  #5  
purple_car
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 202
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How do I use 3rd channel to turn on headlights?

Cool, thanks for the ideas with the micro servo.

Anyone know anything about that white wire, like what the voltage through it is when the switch is off and what voltage it has when the switch is on? And is there some way to harness that to activate a switch of some kind?
Old 03-24-2006, 05:24 PM
  #6  
joshuoke
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Izegem , BELGIUM
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How do I use 3rd channel to turn on headlights?

some light kits plug right into any free receiver port, so also the 3rd channel.
then the lights should be controllable with the 3rd channel switch...

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.