Notices
RC Painting, Detailing & Bodies Discuss painting techniques, methods and materials. Also detailing and bodies

OKAY, total Noob question

Old 10-22-2008, 07:07 PM
ferrariowner123

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OKAY, total Noob question

Okay, I have alot of noobish painting questions, sorry if your someone like me who hates noobs (except in Halo )

I have some Experience Painting ( if you call it Experience) I have painted two lids for my MGT and they were very easy, just straight black.

My friend and i are going to buy a couple of new lids for our trucks and i want some more experience in painting, and getting a little bit more challenging paint jobs then just one color. And my friend said if i buy the paint, he'll let me paint his bodies. so i dont realy want to mess it up.

I want to paint a body that will be used on a heavly bashed, basher truck, just to give everyone an idea of what the bodies will be subjected to.

To start with, Can you paint the outside of a body?
If you can paint on the outside;
-Does that scratch easly?
-Is there a tough paint that can stand up to hits and survive with normal damage?

Can normal blue painters tape, (like for interior paint) be used as masking?

What is the best way to speed up the drying time? (i've used hairdryers before and they worked pretty well)

I've seen an old article on how you could take magezine cut outs and put them on the inside of you lid, does that work? and how?

I did my other bodies just flowing the Proline guide inculded on the packaging, and i've seen some many of these extremely complex paint jobs and i'm sitting in front of my computer going WOW, scratching my head and wondering how the heck did they do they from the inside the body???

Again, sorry for what i assume are such basic questions.

Any links, tips or helpfull advise of any kind is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Ferrari
Old 10-22-2008, 07:29 PM
t9dragon
My Feedback: (11)

Default RE: OKAY, total Noob question