Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

futaba programmable servos

Old 03-19-2011, 09:56 AM
  #1  
OhD
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,154
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default futaba programmable servos

Has anyone tried any Futaba programmable servos?

Jim
Old 03-20-2011, 01:33 PM
  #2  
OhD
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,154
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos

They must be a big seller in the Pattern world.

Jim
Old 03-20-2011, 01:47 PM
  #3  
Gulliver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos

I'm probably naive, but why would anyone program a servo when it can be done so easily from almost all transmitters ?
Old 03-20-2011, 02:13 PM
  #4  
Enrique-F3A
Senior Member
 
Enrique-F3A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Caracas, VENEZUELA
Posts: 157
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos


I am wondering the same thing !!



Old 03-20-2011, 03:27 PM
  #5  
vbortone
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 646
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos

So am I. Probably useful if radio has limited programability. However, I don't see that is the case for most radios nowdays.

Vicente "Vince" Bortone
Old 03-20-2011, 03:48 PM
  #6  
Jetdesign
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,054
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos

I have a set of Hitec servos in my Yak. Never really got to like them. Anyway they are programmable. I could not, for the life of me, get equal servo travel or speed (one or other, not both) out of my aileron servos, no matter what I did mechanically or with my radio. Ended up getting the Hitec programmer and found one servo had quite a bit more travel than the other. Was able to reduce with the programmer, now aileron travel is good, and cork-screwing rolls are gone. But maybe there's more to it? I'm definitely on the bottom end of the experience poll here.
Old 03-20-2011, 04:15 PM
  #7  
vbortone
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 646
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos

I have been doing all programing using the radio travel adjustment (balance in the new radios make it easier). The only way to program from radio is having a separate channel for each servo (no Y system). A separate servo or servos are required for each surface if any of the options. Probably this is the main advantage of been able to program each servo as a separate unit. I don't think is an issue for pattern planes. Also, I know that I can program servo speed from TX. I never got the chance to notice problems due to servo speed so never tried this one.

Vicente "Vince" Bortone
Old 03-20-2011, 07:36 PM
  #8  
OhD
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,154
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos


ORIGINAL: Gulliver

I'm probably naive, but why would anyone program a servo when it can be done so easily from almost all transmitters ?
1) Wouldn't it be nice to have backup elevator servos that you could drop in and go fly? Matching them up with the transmitter in the field is nearly impossible in my estimation.
2) Wouldn't if be nice to use the full resolution of the transmitter?
3) Wouldn't it be nice to be able to trade off torque for travel time stop to stop?

On top of that you could adjust speed to match, adjust damping to match, reduce latency (get rid of PWM to digital and back to PWM) with the s.bus system and probably some more stuff I haven't thought of.

Jim O
Old 03-21-2011, 03:30 AM
  #9  
vbortone
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 646
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos

Jim.
you always ahead of everybody. I guees that we need to check if the programable servos are equal when end points, speed and other inputs are equivalent.

Thanks,

Vicente "Vince" Bortone
Old 03-21-2011, 06:10 AM
  #10  
apereira
 
apereira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,683
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos

The only advantage I see on those (unless someone is using and old radio system, but if you can afford a programable rudder you should also afford a good radio) servos is the fact you can adjust the sub trim so the radio's is at 0% on the sub trim, so there will be less chances of differential, and the other thing will be to be able to adjust the mechanical stops in a particular set up, so no matter how much travel is adjusted on the radio a servo will not bind\stall.

Regards

Alejandro P.
Old 03-21-2011, 04:10 PM
  #11  
NJRCFLYER2
My Feedback: (42)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 878
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: futaba programmable servos

All excellent points Jim. Ithink that the programmability of servos makes a lot of sense. Ilike the S.Bus concept as well, and I'm a JR driver. I'm not switching brands, but Ilike the step forward that this represents.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.