Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

YS 160 DZ

Old 10-13-2003, 11:12 PM
  #1  
earl williams
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Snellville, GA
Posts: 349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default YS 160 DZ

Any info on this new one, besides probally being a bored out 140dz. Any power info comparisons, handling & performance? Must it use thew special dz feuls like the 140?
Old 10-14-2003, 11:53 AM
  #2  
Neto
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Monterrey, MEXICO
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

The only thing i have heard until now is that is was designed for the F3A Bipes, and besides that the difference in power is almost nothing!

Ernesto
Old 10-14-2003, 03:46 PM
  #3  
Troy Newman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 2,429
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

The increase in power is a little....The motors run smoother as they have been re-designed and better balanced. The motor is not quite as high compression as the 140DZ and hence a little less bark. But will turn some larger props.

The Props being used are the 17-12W not just a regular 17-12 but a new wide version. Also Chip had some 18's made up that are not scimitar shaped but rather a different blade similar to the giant scale racing props. Fuel consumption is about the same. More cubes just makes the motor work a little less to make similar power.

As with the 140DZ ground numbers are not the telling tail. Its performance in the air that separates it from the pack. It seems to have a better grunt under load than the 140DZ.....

Its a bit more than a Bored out 140....Many new parts. The original 140FZ's were bored out 120's. To go and bore it out again to the 160 was not a complete solution. They have done some interesting things to keep some parts the same size or interchangeable....but its not an upgradeable type of thing, as it has too many major components that are different...Crank-Piston-Ring-Sleeve-Case-Head and so on.

Weight is about the same as the 140DZ...Seems to run very well.

The 140DZ and 160DZ are designed as F3A motors. As such they excel in sport models but Yamada's ultimate goal with this flagship type of product is the competition F3A pilot. And as such they are always expanding the power and performance of their motors....The 140FZ was the king of the hill 5 years ago....Today you can buy that same motor in the new 140FZ Sport....Its even got some power gains over the original FZ. The technology trickles down to the sport flyer market.

As for fuel requirements. I find that the 30% heli fuels work the best in all the 4 strokes. Saito even recommends this fuel for their motors. I have not seen a 4 stroke yet that didn't like or Thrive on the fuel. The 4 strokes also run better on higher nitro content. Just a fact of the beast....They will all run on lower nitro but the 30% heli gives maximum performance and engine longevity.

Is 30% heli required to operate a DZ.....NO! I have run and seen many others run the standard 20-30% Pro-pattern Cool Power. And they run fine...They don't make the power of the Heli but they will run fine. You will not make the power mine is and hence if you try running the same prop you will be working it too hard....If you run the motor at 8200-8500 rpm it will like you no matter what prop and fuel are running.

Also I spoke to Tetsuo Yamada at the US NATS this year about the DZ. In Japan they run 15% nitro standard fuel in Japan....But they don't try to run the huge props we are swinging either. He uses 15.5-12.5w and turns it around 8400....I know that Wolfgang and Roland Matt also have used this prop quite a bit also. Don't know how much nitro they are burning.....

The huge 17" and 18" props what some run on these motors require you to tip the nitro jug.



Troy Newman
Old 10-14-2003, 04:16 PM
  #4  
can773
My Feedback: (1)
 
can773's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 2,286
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Many European's are running the 15.5x12W with the air restrictor on the 140DZ, and CPLR was also using that prop on the 160DZ.

30%, 15.5x12W with the restrictor gets you 8500-8700 and still meets the noise limits.

Personally I am liking that setup better than the unrestricted 16.5x12W setup.
Old 12-01-2003, 09:13 PM
  #5  
Baron UK
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: o, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Hi does anyone know where I can get a cad dwg side view will do or all would be [8D] of a Yamada 63 or 120 -140 for my plans??

Failing that I will have to draw one myself
Old 12-01-2003, 09:26 PM
  #6  
Mike Hill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 142
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Go to www.ysperformance.com and under drawings.


Mike
Old 12-02-2003, 04:24 AM
  #7  
Baron UK
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: o, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Mike I have these drawings already.

I am looking for a cad dxf or dwg so I can import direct to my plans. Seeing as most of my designs are based around YS motors I think its only fair they are on the drawing instead of my scaled up MDS [:@]

Thanks anyway.
Old 12-02-2003, 06:57 AM
  #8  
jatik
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: -.--.-..---..---.-.-.-....-.., FINLAND
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Hi Baron,

Instead using scaled up MDS, try at least scale up YS120 SF
Ola Fremming has these on his homepages....

-> http://home.online.no/~ofremmi/Drawings/drawings.htm

- Jari -
Old 12-02-2003, 01:10 PM
  #9  
Baron UK
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: o, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Jatik [8D]

You are a star

Thankyou. Just what I needed.

You just saved me about 8 hours work. Thanks to you and RCU

Malcolm
Old 12-28-2003, 08:33 PM
  #10  
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,101
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Hey Troy when you are flying AA with your DZ what prop are you running??
Old 12-30-2003, 08:21 AM
  #11  
Troy Newman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 2,429
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: YS 140 DZ

17-12 APC same as Quique on his Excellence. 10.5-11lbs and plenty of juice.

Performs great...this is also the same prop I use for pattern stuff. I also use the 16.5-12W but this is a tougher one to hover with. It has the power but its requires a little more work to torque roll...

The 17-12 is a little tough to Torque roll...requires a little more skill. But the plane responds better than the bigger flat pitch props. Another good one is the 17-10 full blade. But this turns up a little high and should not be flown at full power too many RPMS.

Setup properly the DZ will hover a 12.5lb model I have seen it and done it with a DP Edge


TN
Old 12-30-2003, 10:45 AM
  #12  
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,101
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 140 DZ

Hey Troy, have you ever tried to use an 18x8 prop for AA or 18x10?
Old 11-13-2005, 04:41 PM
  #13  
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,341
Received 73 Likes on 46 Posts
Default RE: YS 140 DZ

Hi
Does anybody know what's this little piece in front of motor Yamada Dingo
and just under regulator ?
thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo39387.jpg
Views:	272
Size:	102.6 KB
ID:	353701  
Old 11-13-2005, 06:20 PM
  #14  
rgreen24
My Feedback: (6)
 
rgreen24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,101
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

It looks like the same set up as the new YS 63. I wonder myself why the change. I bet we are looking at the 1.70
Old 11-13-2005, 07:59 PM
  #15  
riot3d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: oakland, CA
Posts: 1,081
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

No, its a 160.

According to my Japanese friend, its another check valve that restricts fuel flow after engine shuts down. Therefore, you don't need to pinch or clamp the fuel line after landing.
Old 11-21-2005, 07:27 AM
  #16  
waltervh
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bloemfontein, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

When will the 170 be available?
Old 11-21-2005, 07:29 AM
  #17  
MikeEast
My Feedback: (3)
 
MikeEast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nederland, TX
Posts: 3,246
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

I asked YS, they said they have no plans to produce the 1.70. Im sure that can change though.
Old 11-21-2005, 07:33 AM
  #18  
waltervh
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bloemfontein, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 72
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

I wonder why , I want about 6 for friends F3A planes
Old 11-21-2005, 11:33 AM
  #19  
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,341
Received 73 Likes on 46 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Hi all
I use theses two motors. Yamada YS160 Dingo ist smoother than YS140 Dingo. It's also more powerfull
and uses APC 17x12 with 25% nitro. YS 140 Dingo with same fuel uses APC 16x12. I prefer YS160 Dingo
because it's less violent when increase throttle.
Now my friend Stephane Carrier (13 th in WC 2005) is practising with YS170 Dingo. He told me it's the same like 160 Dingo, just a very little small difference. He uses APC 17x12 with 170 Dingo and fuel 25% nitro (Mécafuel)
Regards
Old 11-21-2005, 04:21 PM
  #20  
MikeEast
My Feedback: (3)
 
MikeEast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nederland, TX
Posts: 3,246
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

I was told by two top name pattern guys that fly the 1.60DZ that part of the initial startup preparation for this engine should include the following:

Open the cam cover and fill the cam case with Mobil 1 synthetic oil, I used a 5W20 but any will do. This is to ensure that the cam and gears get a good prelube before the engine is cranked. This should also be done any time you pull the engine out. I have been told that L as well as DZ owners should do this. The excess oil will be burned off quick but the lubrication will last and lengthen the life of your moving parts.
Old 11-21-2005, 05:30 PM
  #21  
cameron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 297
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Why not use the same oil the engine burns? ie synthetic glow oil? doesn't make sense to me.
Cam
Old 11-21-2005, 05:41 PM
  #22  
MikeEast
My Feedback: (3)
 
MikeEast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nederland, TX
Posts: 3,246
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

You probably can but Im not sure. The point is there is no lubrication in there initially and so it gives the system some lube to startup on. Like I said, I was told this by well,,,, Earl Haury and Troy Neumann in separate discussions and both specifically mentioned Mobil 1 synthetic so thats what I used. I just wanted to get it out there so folks dont start up dry and shorten the life of the cam etc etc...
Old 11-21-2005, 05:43 PM
  #23  
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,341
Received 73 Likes on 46 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

Hi
Yes I do two things before break-in of the engine :
-I put oil in the cam case before break-in and when I remove the engine I put again oil in cam case, it's very easy to do that. It's synthetic oil used to make fuel.
-I verifie tappet adjustment. For the last two engines I got, there was no tappet clearance. It was tightened. After running many hours tappet clearance don't move.
Regards



Old 11-22-2005, 01:50 AM
  #24  
snap_roll
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: singapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 292
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

hi, im gonna run a 16x12 with 20% heli (coolpower) this sundae... is that alright?
Old 11-22-2005, 01:52 AM
  #25  
snap_roll
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: singapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 292
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: YS 160 DZ

140DZ*

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.