Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pattern Universe - RC Pattern Flying > RC Pattern Flying
Reload this Page >

Rudder inputs on belly-side knife edge.

Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Rudder inputs on belly-side knife edge.

Old 07-25-2005, 10:18 PM
CrazyHerb
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rudder inputs on belly-side knife edge.

Hope this isn't too off topic.

Ok, I've been flying for a long time (1984). But I really want to "fly prettier". Ultimate goal being a very flat slow rolling circle (one rotation per half-circle would be fine), but I won't be too picky.

I'm still (after years) very weak on my belly side rudder inputs/corrections, namely when exiting rolls or violent manuvers (I know contradicting thoughts on a nice smooth flat slow rolling circle). But, I seem to get inputs backwards on occasion, and I'm just not consistent with my corrections. Most of the guys at the field probably don't notice....but I DO.

I can hover and 3D with belly towards me till the tank runs out....but it's just a different animal in forward flight speeds. Yes, I know 3D is much different.

My focus on the plane is usually "leading edge forward"....stick toward low wing. Any other thoughts I can "plug" in my brain to get it to snap in place?
Probably crashed a million bux worth of planes on the simulator....still wiling to crash another million to get it down...

Is there any tips you all might be able to help with? Or have I hit my hand-eye coordination "wall" [&o].

I've been flying the IMAC Votec Extra on AeroFly Pro (which I seem to be most comfortable with. But maybe I have the wrong airframe?
Reduced my elevator throws to 40%..(I'm pretty sure I probably need to go more, and reduce rudder throw as well, hard to get the "stick-banger" out of me).

I've thought about slowing the sim down to 70% to see if that has an impact....