Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba 12 FG Dummies Guide

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2010, 03:36 AM
profmb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 12 FG Dummies Guide

Hi,
I have been using the 12FG for a year, and prior to this I have had no experience with programming compuer radios. The terminlogy and assumptions that get made in the manuals I find confusing and somewhat inpenetrable. It s clear to me that some aspect of programming need to be carried out in certain order. Furthermore there are configurations that affect all set-ups. I cannot help but feel that something like a 'Dummies Guide' is required which goes from the basics up to the opportunities and clever ways of achieving certain results. I find the Futaba manual VERY difficult to understand because it makes so many assumptions about the users knolwledge and makes no attempt to explain any of the logic behimd the instructions. Yet others wax lyrically about the possibilities that the system offfers - between these two extremes there must be a better way of passing on knowledge, such as a 'Dummies Guide' followed by an 'Expert Guide'?

Does anyone else feel this way? Is there such a guide, or does one just have to muddle along picking up little bit sof knowledge over time?

Cheers
Matt
Old 12-05-2010, 12:09 PM
rfk1381
My Feedback: (7)

Default RE: Futaba 12 FG Dummies Guide

I heartily agree. I have had computer radios for many years. The software settings of 8FG/12FG/12Z/14Z family of transmitters are incredibly flexible but incredibly complex and frustrating to folks new to this series of transmitters. Previously, AnnMarie Cross and Don Edberg had written in-depth user manuals for the 9C/10C and 8U transmitters which took new users "by the hand" through typical set-ups and were immensely helpful.
Old 12-05-2010, 12:46 PM
readyturn
My Feedback: (9)