Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Old 06-22-2011, 08:53 PM
  #1  
Snowball1952
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson, WI
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Since I went to the new 2.4 ghz radio it seems I can't use my volt watchers. Any body now about this?
Old 06-22-2011, 09:09 PM
  #2  
Campgems
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

???????

The volt watch is just an Analog to digital voltage readout. 2.4 has nothing to do with how it works. What is your setup? What batteries, rx and such are you using?

Don
Old 06-23-2011, 06:19 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,339
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Voltwatch is nothing but a battery meter, it doesn't know or care what kind of radio you're using.
Old 06-23-2011, 06:48 AM
  #4  
dasintex
My Feedback: (10)
 
dasintex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
Posts: 2,601
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

If I recall, Volt Watch is rated for 4 cell 4.8 Volt RX Packs and if you use 5 cell 6 Volt packs you have to cut a jumper wire; so the question is what size volt packs were/are you using? This could be the problem.
Old 06-23-2011, 07:17 AM
  #5  
Snowball1952
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson, WI
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

I have a T6EX FUTABA 2.4 GHz FASST. I am trying to use the volt watch 2 I had in it before I got the new radio. It is in channel 5 same as before. I nhave tha same problem with another plane were I put it in channel 6, same radio same thing it is a volt watch 2.
Old 06-23-2011, 07:19 AM
  #6  
Snowball1952
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson, WI
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

I am using 4 pack nickel metal hydra batteries.
Old 06-23-2011, 07:20 AM
  #7  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,794
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

what exactly is it doing or not doing when you plug it in?
Old 06-23-2011, 07:29 AM
  #8  
Snowball1952
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson, WI
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

it goes full red right away and yes I checked the connection to make sure they are in correctly.
Old 06-23-2011, 07:37 AM
  #9  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,794
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

If you swap the original receiver back in, they work?

If they're red, I believe I'd be verifying receiver pack voltage with a known good voltmeter. Typically there are just straight through connections in a RX between the battery pins (+ and -) and the servo ports - nothing in the RX is done to alter battery supply voltage before it goes to the servos.

Have you tried plugging the battery direct into the receiver (no switch) and then plugging the voltwatch into the rX?

Old 06-23-2011, 07:43 AM
  #10  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

The VoltWatch 2 has a switch on the side, to switch it back and forth between 4.8 and 6.0 volts. It sounds like the voltwatch is set on 6 volt, while you are using a 4.8 volt battery. Check the switch.
Old 06-23-2011, 08:04 AM
  #11  
Snowball1952
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson, WI
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

YEAH!!!!!! Thanks that solve the issue. One had a switch, the other shows a sign to swicth it but there is nothing there. I even took it off and used a pick but nothing. I guess I will put a new one on that one. THANKS so much for the help guys. Snowball.

I may test gravity but I never crash!!!!!!
Old 06-23-2011, 08:07 AM
  #12  
baronbrian
My Feedback: (13)
 
baronbrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 889
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

*slaps forehead*
Old 06-23-2011, 08:12 AM
  #13  
Snowball1952
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson, WI
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

how did you know
Old 06-23-2011, 08:13 AM
  #14  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Been there, done that, got the tee shirt!
Old 06-23-2011, 08:29 AM
  #15  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,339
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Experience is what you get right after you need it
Old 06-23-2011, 08:39 AM
  #16  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Amen to that, brother....amen to that
Old 06-23-2011, 08:44 AM
  #17  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

ORIGINAL: Snowball1952

YEAH!!!!!! Thanks that solve the issue. One had a switch, the other shows a sign to swicth it but there is nothing there. I even took it off and used a pick but nothing. I guess I will put a new one on that one. THANKS so much for the help guys. Snowball.

I may test gravity but I never crash!!!!!!
Where should we send the bill?
Old 06-23-2011, 08:46 AM
  #18  
Campgems
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Removed, My post was already covered

Don
Old 06-23-2011, 01:16 PM
  #19  
baronbrian
My Feedback: (13)
 
baronbrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 889
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

When all else fails, do read the directions...
Old 06-23-2011, 02:21 PM
  #20  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

ORIGINAL: Brian Dorff

When all else fails, do read the directions...
You sound just like my wife[X(]
Old 06-23-2011, 02:30 PM
  #21  
ScottMcM
Senior Member
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bennettsville, SC
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Instructions are for sissies. Maybe that's why I never get asked to put Christmas toys together[&o]....give me a break...I erected Butler Steel Buildings for 30+ years, and didn't like checking the plans on them either. In all fairness, I could build them in my sleep...and still do on occasion.
Old 06-23-2011, 04:59 PM
  #22  
lopflyers
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
lopflyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,520
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

I have volt watch on all my planes and today someone at the field told me they are not trustworthy.
He said I should use an expanded scale voltmeter. I showed him that i have one in my tool box, but the volt watch since is always connected it is easier and faster, he said that is a false sense of security and that I should take them off.[X(]
Old 06-23-2011, 05:35 PM
  #23  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

tell him "Thanks for the advice..."

change nothing, go fly and have fun
Old 06-23-2011, 05:39 PM
  #24  
Campgems
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz

Ask him what makes his loaded volt meter better. What data supports his position.

Guys get some funny ideas in their head and it is hard to dislodge them. I'm sure Ihave a few floating around also. The argument of which is better, that Volt watch or a loaded meter, has been going on as long as I've been a member of RCuniverse. So here is my take on them.

They provide an accurate and instantaneous reading of the voltage at the receiver. The voltage will vary with the load of the servos moving, so you will see the results of that varying load on the display dancing around. If you have a binding servo, it will show that you have a problem, but not which servo is causing it. The loaded volt meter gives you a snap shot of the voltage under a steady load, not real life. It won't indicate that there is a servo issue as the servo loads are not there when using the volt meter. The volt watch will indicate a bad battery that falls off sharply under load. The voltmeter will not. I compare the two to an Oscilloscope and a meter taking voltage readings on a DC voltage . An Oscilloscope will show a bad power supply, one that is letting ripple into the DC voltage. A voltmeter will not show this. A dynamic display of voltage is much more valuable to me than a snapshot of a static setup with a volt meter.

Ihave volt watches on all my planes and Ihave two loaded volt meters in my flight box. The voltmeters don't get used very often as each plane shows me exactly what the condition of battery is right up to the point Itaxi out and again as soon as I land and taxi back. Nothing to plug in,and I don't have to turn off the RX to check.

Thats my funny idea and I'm sticking with it.

Don
Old 06-23-2011, 05:50 PM
  #25  
TimT2000
My Feedback: (1)
 
TimT2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: lebanon, MO
Posts: 379
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Why don't the volt watchers work w/2.4ghz


ORIGINAL: lopflyers

I have volt watch on all my planes and today someone at the field told me they are not trustworthy.
He said I should use an expanded scale voltmeter. I showed him that i have one in my tool box, but the volt watch since is always connected it is easier and faster, he said that is a false sense of security and thatI should take them off.[X(]
They are great indicators of voltage under load, just push on the elevator and rudder to create some load
and watch your voltage drop. With Lipo, LiFe or L-ion on a regulator there should not be much of a drop.
Regulator set at 4.8 or 6 volts of course.

Tim



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.