Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Y on a battery

Old 08-06-2011, 05:35 PM
  #1  
telejojo
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: HUNTSVILLE, AL
Posts: 830
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Y on a battery

Can you use a y on a channel with a bat. and another function.I have run out of channels and need a slot for battery and ign. cut off switch and was thinking about using a y all I need for the ign. is a signal wire and a hot wire for the bat.
Old 08-06-2011, 05:42 PM
  #2  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Y on a battery


ORIGINAL: telejojo Can you use a y on a channel with a bat. and another function.I have run out of channels and need a slot for battery and ign. cut off switch and was thinking about using a y all I need for the ign. is a signal wire and a hot wire for the bat.
Yes, examples:
Optima Transceiver (RX) - Dual or Multiple Batteries may be installed - Avoid Brownout & Add Redundancy, even one for each servo.
<dt>Separate Battery for Retract Servo - DIY harness. 01 </dt><dt>Separate Battery for Retract Servo - DIY harness. 02

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
(quick search = Ctrl+F)

</dt>
Old 08-06-2011, 06:16 PM
  #3  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Y on a battery


ORIGINAL: telejojo

Can you use a y on a channel with a bat. and another function.I have run out of channels and need a slot for battery and ign. cut off switch and was thinking about using a y all I need for the ign. is a signal wire and a hot wire for the bat.
Yes you can. For most all receivers, the Rx battery can be plugged into the Bat port or any other Servo port, using a Y Harness, where the Battery is plugged into one side of the Y and the Servo is plugged into the other side of the Y. Some people use more than one Rx battery, for Redundancy. They plug one battery into the Bat port and one battery into any Servo port. Do not plug both batteries, if you use two, into the same Y Harness.
Old 08-07-2011, 04:45 AM
  #4  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Y on a battery

Yes, but be sure to use a Y with heavy duty leads. Many Y's are to puny and will cause a voltage drop just when you need the high currents.
Old 08-07-2011, 05:08 AM
  #5  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Y on a battery


ORIGINAL: Rodney

Yes, but be sure to use a Y with heavy duty leads. Many Y's are to puny and will cause a voltage drop just when you need the high currents.
Absolutely!!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.