Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

how to choose ESC?

Old 08-17-2011, 06:06 AM
Q8Helper

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to choose ESC?

hi

im new with electric rc airplanes i dont know how to choose the best ESC

now i have motor A4120/7 kv610 and 3 battries all of them 3s two of them 3300 mah 11.1v one 5000 mah (i dont know what all this numbers means)

as i heared before with this motor i need 4-6s lipo .. so i wil connect 2 battries to be total 6s

now in this case what will be best ESC how to choose?

thanks
Old 08-17-2011, 06:31 AM
exeter_acres
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: how to choose ESC?

I'm sure there is some whacky formula... but if this is the motor

http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...1&pid=B2171400

it says it is rated for a max of 55A... so me? I'd get a quality 60A ESC that can handle the cells that you want to use.
Old 08-17-2011, 06:41 AM
BuschBarber
My Feedback: (2)

ORIGINAL: Q8Helper

hi

now i have motor A4120/7 kv610 and 3 battries all of them 3s two of them 3300 mah 11.1v one 5000 mah (i dont know what all this numbers means)

as i heared before with this motor i need 4-6s lipo .. so i wil connect 2 battries to be total 6s

thanks
The ESC you choose depends upon the Voltage you use and the amount of Current your motor draws. Both Motor and ESC are rated for Current and Voltage. Fully charged LiPos are 4.2v per cell, so 6S would be 25.2v. The amount of Current you need depends upon what Diameter and Pitch Prop you use. The larger the Prop, the more Current you will need.

Your batteries are rated as to how many C they can handle during Discharge. One C represents the rated capacity of the battery. In your case, a 5000mah (5a) battery equals one C. If your batteries are rated for 30C Discharge, then your batteries can handle a Discharge Rate of 150a. There are usually Continuous and Burst ratings marked on the battery or in it's specs.