Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Help with My First Purchase

Old 04-28-2012, 07:27 PM
CPTOZZY

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with My First Purchase

I am getting back into RC Aircraft after several years.I previously had flown some high wing trainers but I sold all my equipment when I took a Job several years ago which has taken me overseas frequently.I currently have the Realflight 6 Sim which I practice regularly on, and a “Toy” indoor Coaxial Helicopter, but I am essentially a complete beginner in both Fixed and Rotary wing.I am currently Living In Seoul, South Korea, so I have no practical access to an RC Club or Hobby Shop – All my purchases will be online.I will be moving back to the USA in about 6 months, but due to my current Urban location my selection of aircraft will be limited to micro/very small fixed and small rotary wing.
I am anxious to get back into RC.I know my most important expenditure will likely be my Transmitter.Here are my consderations for that purchase:
1) I want quality and expandability.I don’t want to end up buying a new transmitter with each Aircraft I progress to.
2) I am interested in both Fixed and Rotary wing.
3) I am prepared to spend up to, But not over $500 for a Transmitter
4) The transmitter must be able to handle Micro to large Aircraft.
5) As I have no access to a RC Club or Hobby Shop I must be able to Purchase the transmitter and allied components on-line.
6) Availibility and cost of compatible allied components (servo’s, recievers, batteries etc.) is important.I am willing to pay a bit more for quality but I don’t want to be stuck paying ridiculous amounts for servo’s etc.
7) I would like a Transmitter that can Bind to my Realflight – 6 Sim – Although that is not a show-stopper.