Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Old futaba radios

Old 07-04-2013, 05:18 AM
  #1  
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,002
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Old futaba radios

Hey guys, I recently acquired an old friends old rc collection. Along with it was these three old futaba radios, with matching servos. My question, are any of them very good, or maybe worth anything? I wouldn't mind using one of them on one of the old planes that I got with them, but none of them have recievers. Can you still get a reciever that will work with it? Thanks in advance for the knowledge. Steve.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11961.jpg
Views:	517
Size:	282.7 KB
ID:	1897498   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dx67845.jpg
Views:	472
Size:	299.4 KB
ID:	1897499   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vx46261.jpg
Views:	1011
Size:	260.9 KB
ID:	1897500  
Old 07-04-2013, 06:02 AM
  #2  
Gizmo-RCU
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athol, ID
Posts: 2,155
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

If it were me I would put them up on a shelf and admire the history of how far our equipment has truly come. I suspect your transmitters cost as much new as many present day multi channel computer
transmitters?
You have sever issues with those old radios. New Battery's required and were they "narrow-banded", etc.?

I see such as you have at swap meets and mostly there are no takers.
Old 07-04-2013, 07:03 AM
  #3  
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,002
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

That's kind of what I figured. Not very trust worthy. I just thought it would be neat to fly an old time RC plane with the exact set up that would have been used back then, but I might as well just run the plane over with my car, right?it is amazing the difference between that, and my DX-8. The hobby sure has come a long way. Thanks for talking me out of it. Some times I need that. Lol. Steve.
Old 07-04-2013, 07:06 AM
  #4  
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,002
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

BTW, the old planes will fly though, just with newer electronics. All of the engines fired right up and ran great. To my surprise.
Old 07-04-2013, 07:07 AM
  #5  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios


ORIGINAL: stevegauth30@comcast.net

That's kind of what I figured. Not very trust worthy. I just thought it would be neat to fly an old time RC plane with the exact set up that would have been used back then, but I might as well just run the plane over with my car, right?it is amazing the difference between that, and my DX-8. The hobby sure has come a long way. Thanks for talking me out of it. Some times I need that. Lol. Steve.
We have a fellow club member that like to build and fly Vintage aircraft with Vintage radios that are older than yours. They can be updated and used for Nostalgia purposes.
Old 07-04-2013, 07:10 AM
  #6  
Rob2160
Senior Member
 
Rob2160's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 4,786
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios


ORIGINAL: stevegauth30@comcast.net

Hey guys, I recently acquired an old friends old rc collection. Along with it was these three old futaba radios, with matching servos. My question, are any of them very good, or maybe worth anything? I wouldn't mind using one of them on one of the old planes that I got with them, but none of them have recievers. Can you still get a reciever that will work with it? Thanks in advance for the knowledge. Steve.
Thanks for posting those pictures, Iremember each of those radios at the club when I was younger.

My first radio in 1978 was a Futaba 4H, I gave it away 10 years ago but wishI had kept it for sentimental value...

As already mentioned, probably wiser not to fly with these old radios, it is risky at best.

Some of my old Radios and planes.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8DU7WD8ra0[/youtube]

Old 07-04-2013, 08:03 AM
  #7  
TFF
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

Look for the gold sticker with the AMA tag. If you got that, at least it would be legal. Putting batteries in would be first step after that. Ebay has tons of old stuff. The vinyl clad one will run forever. I have the chrome round stick version I got for Christmas 78 and it still works fine. Just not legal without some big reworking.
Old 07-04-2013, 08:12 AM
  #8  
JIMF14D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PATCHOGUE, NY
Posts: 954
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

Take a look on E-bay. There is a lot of this old stuff for sale there. Idon't know much abou it but some of the prices are much more than pocket change.

Good luck

Old 07-04-2013, 02:58 PM
  #9  
skyraider71
Senior Member
 
skyraider71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mount washington, KY
Posts: 837
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

I don't think any of those are even legal to use anymore.
Old 07-04-2013, 03:09 PM
  #10  
JIMF14D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PATCHOGUE, NY
Posts: 954
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

Not legal maybe but there are people who collect this stuff at top dollar. Recently there were some old Kraft single button type Tx there on E-bay going for $300+!
Old 07-04-2013, 03:20 PM
  #11  
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,002
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

I know, that's crazy. One of them has the book with it, and it states that you need an "FCC class C license to operate it. Who woulda thunk?
Old 07-04-2013, 05:14 PM
  #12  
TFF
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

I have a collection of 70's Kraft all FM narrow band except two which are narrow AM. I have thought of gutting my old Futaba and installing a Microstar encoder. Fulfilling a collection always caries a premium price. Nostalgia is always costly, bought a 60's muscle car lately?
Old 07-04-2013, 07:40 PM
  #13  
John Sohm
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone Ridge, NY
Posts: 366
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

I got my class C license back in 1976. You needed a class D to operate CB radios and class C to operate radio controlled vehicles. There were three bands available: 27 mhz, 50 mhz and 72 mhz. My first system was a single stick Royal 6 channel AM set I bought off Mr. TopGun Frank Tiano who was a member of the Kingston Aero Modellers. My very next system was a Futaba 6 channel AM set with the usual set of gimbals. I used that radio for well over 10 years before I got another set and it never gave me a lick of trouble. Seems they were made to last then. I know there are a lot of people that are into Vintage RC and they actually use vintage radios to equip their vintage models. I'm talking about escapements and push button actuated radios. A friend of mine showed me a radio he bought from a guy in Japan. It was an OS transmitter. Beautiful blue anodized aluminum case with a big push button on it. Single channel and had a good heft to it until you took out the dry cell battery that powered it. What a classic. Well enough history lesson.
Old 07-04-2013, 11:43 PM
  #14  
ddaveb
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manchesterlancashire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

The model on the right Fp4l uses a modern type encoder & in the uk was on the 35mhz band & is compatible with any of the present 35mhz rx's 10khz spacing & is just like using any 35mhz radio available today as long as batteries etc are ok. Dave
Old 07-05-2013, 12:14 AM
  #15  
AB Bob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spotsylvania, VA
Posts: 327
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

I might have to start collecting some of the vintage items... I love reading and learning about RC history. Thank you guys.
Old 07-05-2013, 04:49 AM
  #16  
oneaew@msn.com
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hemet , CA
Posts: 1,164
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

i see the same radios at swap meets for 1.00 each i bought one on 72 works great>>
Old 07-05-2013, 06:47 AM
  #17  
oneaew@msn.com
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hemet , CA
Posts: 1,164
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

i started flying in 1945 on 27 did not need a lic. for it
Old 07-05-2013, 07:32 AM
  #18  
Lightspeed1551
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 187
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

There are guys that will rework am and wide band radios to 72mhz and 2.4ghz. I'd do it to the gold one just for fun and to weird out people at the field.
Old 07-12-2013, 04:41 PM
  #19  
atron
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MEXICO CITYDF, MEXICO
Posts: 52
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

I´ll guess you can still fly with your old radio!!!

Look close on photo and you will find it.

Radio and plane are 30 plus year old. Receiver, FM module (narrow) servos and battery are not that old.



Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94637.jpg
Views:	513
Size:	248.9 KB
ID:	1899878  
Old 07-13-2013, 05:22 AM
  #20  
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,002
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

Hey atron, that's a real sweet lookin plane you got there. I love the old vintage planes. Very nice. What's it got for power?
Old 07-15-2013, 01:48 PM
  #21  
donnyman
 
donnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manor, TX But my heart is in Brooklyn N.Y.
Posts: 1,802
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

Hey Steve

I have all of those radios and use them, the most important thing I am told is they have been upgraded to 1991 standard which no one will do anymore.

Throwing these radios away really grates my nerves they function well. I am hoping someone with electronic skills can work out a use for them meanwhile I'll be holding on to em.

I've seen some converted for use on controline birds.


Hoping for the best......................Donny
Old 07-15-2013, 01:58 PM
  #22  
oneaew@msn.com
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hemet , CA
Posts: 1,164
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

just hang on to theradios you can show your grandkids some day or show them off at the field
Old 07-15-2013, 03:29 PM
  #23  
stevegauth30
Thread Starter
 
stevegauth30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 4,002
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

Yeah, there not going anywhere. Except someday one to each of my boys. For now, a good conversation piece.
Old 07-15-2013, 11:48 PM
  #24  
chuckk2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 1,247
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

I still have a single stick Heath 8 channel WB 72 mhz and receiver, if anyone is interested.
It uses the old style 4 lead servos and has two RF channels.
Old 08-01-2013, 06:24 AM
  #25  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Old futaba radios

The old radios are not legal to use now.
But they can easily be converted to 2.4GHZ and will be legal.
Just buy a hack module from Hobbyking and take out the crystal.
You will need to find the frame connection and connect to that (Besides the + and -).
It might be best to have a tech do that.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.