Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Long term radio for a newbie

Old 04-28-2015, 09:22 AM
erwabo

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Long term radio for a newbie

So dont hurt me too bad, but I am VERY new to RC planes. One of my issues is I am a tech geek and do IT for a living, so the more feature laden, technical bells and whistles the better. So I have a 72 Futaba 8U that was given to me, but the FASST module for it is like $170, so I was thinking more about getting a new one to fly the newer planes and keeping that for some older planes I was given with it.

So I was looking at the Turnigy 9X Pro, the FlySky FS-i10 and the Spektrum DX8

Any opinions and recommendations?

Thanks so much
Old 04-28-2015, 09:42 AM
049flyer
My Feedback: (18)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Don't forget the FrSky Taranis with it's open source software, unlimited programming, telemetry, voice notifications, inexpensive accessories, parts availability, and active online community. Perfect for a tech type like yourself and only $200.00 or so.
Old 04-28-2015, 10:05 AM
erwabo

Hmm, I l'll check that one out. I really liked the Spektrum receivers that I was able to edit stuff with the iPad...of course they are things I have no idea bout yet, but I like the capability to do so. I dont know enough to make an informed decision yet or what REALLY makes one radio that much better than the next.
Old 04-28-2015, 10:30 AM
erwabo

So what protocol is recommended. Im seeing so many things. DSMX, FASST, FHSSS, DS2, AS3X

What is the recommended module type?
Old 04-28-2015, 12:28 PM
049flyer