Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

The Right Spectrum Radio To Grow With

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2015, 04:31 AM
andydallas
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Right Spectrum Radio To Grow With

I am new to RC airplanes, but have a few quad's and want to fly airplanes.

i am looking for my first radio, one thing I understand is that radio's don't crash, so I don't mind spending more money to get one that I can grow with. I hate in any hobby to buy something, then realize a month later you should have bought one with more features/room etc.

For right now the DX6 sounds great from what i've read,,,,but then i start thinking about 'room to grow'. Do I need a 7, 8 or 9 channel radio?

What is hard for me to understand is just how complex an airplane needs a 8 or 9 channel transmitter,,,if its a 1/4 scale plane with bomb doors etc,,,then I'll stick at 6, but if a fairly 'normal' plan can make use of 7, 8 or 9 channels, then it sounds like it would be worth the initial investment.

I'm a private pilot with about 200 hours, I love flying but don't have the time/money to stay proficient,,,,I think flying RC with the planes available today, might just be the perfect hobby.

I really appreciate any input, I have spent hours reading through the forum looking for input,,but realized it might be easier to just ask the question

andy
Old 12-05-2015, 06:21 AM
Flypaper 2

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Smile

I've been using the DX9 for a number of yrs. Just a good all around size. It's not so much the number of channels. Moreso the extra programming functions over the 6, 7, and 8.
I'm more of a sport flier and it has more goodies than I'll ever use.
By the way, I have 42 models programmed into it. See what you're in for.

Last edited by Flypaper 2; 12-05-2015 at 06:29 AM.
Old 12-05-2015, 04:22 PM
Robert Willis

Received 1 Like on 1 Post