Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Which radio is the better for the $$

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2016, 04:00 AM
Hulagan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which radio is the better for the $$

Hi all, this is my first post, I'm a 50 year old vet that wants to get back into RC aircraft. I haven't flown in 25 plus years. I'm trying to figure out which radio to buy. I Hesse are my choices. Futaba 8 or 10J, a Groupner 9 ch.,or the new Spektrum 8 Ch. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks. Mike.
Old 08-16-2016, 06:58 AM
Rodney

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

You do not state your location, that may make a difference. If in the USA I would suggest that you check out the Tactic850 if 8 channels are enough for you (and it is for most of us). You will find it a much better buy than those you mentioned. Now all of them are good performers so you will probably be happy with any one of them. It is just that the Tactic offers so much more for your money and is very easy to program and has a great reliability record.
Old 08-17-2016, 07:30 AM
krokodyl

I am currently in the same situation. I was looking at the 10j and dx8 gen 2. Maybe the hitec flash 8 or even A9X.

One thing I like about the futaba is that one rx will give you 8 channels and rx voltage, and the rx is reasonably priced. With spektrum to get any kind of telemetry you would need to buy a nother little device I belive... reciever prices are something to watch, as they can be more important the the cost of the transmitter.

It can also come down to how it feels in your hands. If one feels weird to you, then it is probably not the best choice, although sometimes features will trump this.

One thing I cant figure out is if you can set the servo speed on on the 10j. This is a nice feature, which is present on the dx8 for sure.