Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Was buying a Futaba 14SG a mistake?

Old 01-23-2020, 06:46 PM
  #1  
butchn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chaska, MN
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Was buying a Futaba 14SG a mistake?

I just ordered this radio because I needed 8 channels for my B17 and my 9C with the TM8 module will only put out 7 channels. I then downloaded the manual and quickly skimmed through it and read where in FASST mode it will only do 7 channels also. So did I mess up? Read something about FASST-MULTI but not sure if this will get me what I want or not ... I am not using Futaba RX's. Appreciate it if someone could clarify this - might need to cancel the order.
Old 01-23-2020, 07:35 PM
  #2  
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maricopa County AZ
Posts: 3,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Are you sure you don't have the TM7 module? my 9C with the TM8 puts out 8 channels when the dip switch on it is set to 8 channel mode. You do need a receiver that can receive 8 or more channels at the time the 9C
was out you went from the Futaba 8ch receiver to the 14 ch receiver there was nothing in between.
Old 01-23-2020, 07:49 PM
  #3  
butchn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chaska, MN
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I will have to check - it is a TM8 I could not find the manual but I remember something about it now that you mention it - is there something about being in FM vrs PPM mode when using this switch? Seems I recall it saying something about it ... but not sure of anything. Will check it tomorrow.
Thanks for the heads-up! May have saved me some big bucks!
Old 01-23-2020, 09:28 PM
  #4  
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maricopa County AZ
Posts: 3,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by butchn View Post
I will have to check - it is a TM8 I could not find the manual but I remember something about it now that you mention it - is there something about being in FM vrs PPM mode when using this switch? Seems I recall it saying something about it ... but not sure of anything. Will check it tomorrow.
Thanks for the heads-up! May have saved me some big bucks!
You have to be in PPM mode not PCM when using the TM8.
Old 01-24-2020, 06:38 AM
  #5  
butchn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chaska, MN
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Switched the TM8 to 8 channel but still no response, in fact the RX does not respond at all. TX is in PPM mode? Do I need to re-link the RX after making the switch change? I am using a FrSky 8 channel FASST compatible RX.
Old 01-24-2020, 10:29 AM
  #6  
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maricopa County AZ
Posts: 3,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by butchn View Post
Switched the TM8 to 8 channel but still no response, in fact the RX does not respond at all. TX is in PPM mode? Do I need to re-link the RX after making the switch change? I am using a FrSky 8 channel FASST compatible RX.
it has been a while since I used my TM8 and I don't remember having to relink after changing the switch but it's worth a try. I have a FrSky FASST compatible receiver that I use with my 16SZ and I dont understand why it
would not work with the TM8 although I have never used it with my TM8. I have semi retired my 9C and use it mostly in the shop to set up systems .
Old 01-24-2020, 11:36 AM
  #7  
butchn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chaska, MN
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Tried re-linking but still no workeee? Only can access 7 channels on my frsky TFR8S RX.
Old 01-24-2020, 11:52 AM
  #8  
butchn
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chaska, MN
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ira d View Post
it has been a while since I used my TM8 and I don't remember having to relink after changing the switch but it's worth a try. I have a FrSky FASST compatible receiver that I use with my 16SZ and I dont understand why it
would not work with the TM8 although I have never used it with my TM8. I have semi retired my 9C and use it mostly in the shop to set up systems .
Do you know if you have the 16SZ in FASST-MULTI mode? If that is the case then I guess any Futaba TX than can do FASST-MULTI would work for the non-futaba 8 channel RX's. Or am I missing something?
Old 01-24-2020, 12:36 PM
  #9  
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maricopa County AZ
Posts: 3,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by butchn View Post
Do you know if you have the 16SZ in FASST-MULTI mode? If that is the case then I guess any Futaba TX than can do FASST-MULTI would work for the non-futaba 8 channel RX's. Or am I missing something?
Yes I fly the FrSky in FASST Multi mode with the 16SZ and that is the same mode I use to currently operate my old R6008HS that I use to operate with my TM8.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.