Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Is there any radio that will work with PC?

Old 06-03-2020, 12:41 PM
  #1  
teisco
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is there any radio that will work with PC?

I know there are apps and wiring diagrams but I am looking for an RC transmitter that will hookup to my pc right out of the box (not the ones that come with RC simulators but a real transmitter)
Thanks,
Old 06-03-2020, 01:24 PM
  #2  
mkjohnston
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wichita Falls,TX, TX
Posts: 489
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

If you had a usb port on your TX you could plug it in that way!
Michael
Old 06-03-2020, 01:57 PM
  #3  
teisco
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I see where the high end Spectrum transmitters have USB and WiFi and Bluetooth...would any of those work using the transmitter for PC flightsims?
Old 06-03-2020, 09:13 PM
  #4  
shahzad haider
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Karachi, PAKISTAN
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by teisco
I see where the high end Spectrum transmitters have USB and WiFi and Bluetooth...would any of those work using the transmitter for PC flightsims?
Ni
Old 06-04-2020, 11:27 AM
  #5  
mkjohnston
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wichita Falls,TX, TX
Posts: 489
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I don't know much about Spectrum gear as I am Futaba Man! I have real flight sim 9 and was looking at using my Futaba TX with it. There was adapter that they no longer make that plugs into the back of the Spectrum TX so but I dont really want to make a special cable at this moment.
good luck
Michael Johnston
Old 06-05-2020, 05:41 AM
  #6  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,158
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

If you have RF9, get the WS2000 USB Spektrum simulator dongle. Then you have no cable between the PC and the Spektrum transmitter.

Andy
Old 06-05-2020, 09:03 AM
  #7  
mkjohnston
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wichita Falls,TX, TX
Posts: 489
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Hi Andy, I have a futaba8Ja that does not have a usb port or blue tooth. I was looking into using plugging my tx into the RF9 Spectrum Interlink DX but according to Horizon there is not a cable that will plug into my tx! I was going to plug it into the trainer port but I think I have to hold the Trainer button on like if I was buddy boxing with a student.
thank you
MQuick Replyichael
Old 06-05-2020, 09:32 AM
  #8  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,158
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Ah, I misunderstood. I thought you were wanting to use your Spektrum radio and have a USB interface for your RF9. My bad.

From what I see in the manual, a regular JR-to-Futaba cable would suffice. I know Futaba has a couple different cable formats vs. 1 standard for JR and Spektrum. I don't know which format of cable you'd need to be using. Sorry.

You wouldn't have to hold the button on. Your Futaba would be the Student radio, and the Interlink would be the Instructor. It automatically handles the pass-through when it sees valid data coming in on the trainer port.

Andy
Old 06-05-2020, 09:51 AM
  #9  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,866
Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts
Default

If the OP would say what he is trying to do there are any number of ways to connect a transmitter directly to a PC. USB, trainer ports, audio cables, special receivers, etc. Asking general question gets general answers that don't mean squat.
Old 06-05-2020, 12:41 PM
  #10  
teisco
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thinking of buying the Spektrum xi20 to try and connect to the pc,,,usb should do it.
Old 06-05-2020, 12:48 PM
  #11  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,158
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

The USB on the iX20 is not a simulator port. It's like plugging your phone into your PC, not your transmitter.

Andy
Old 06-19-2020, 01:40 PM
  #12  
tedsander
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: White Bear lake, MN
Posts: 756
Likes: 0
Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

The Taranis, and most other OpenTx transmitters do.
Old 06-19-2020, 01:42 PM
  #13  
teisco
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I will check them out..
Ok did but would like to know how they link to pc and what they can do once linked.

Last edited by teisco; 06-19-2020 at 01:53 PM.
Old 06-19-2020, 04:28 PM
  #14  
tedsander
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: White Bear lake, MN
Posts: 756
Likes: 0
Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by teisco
Thanks, I will check them out..
Ok did but would like to know how they link to pc and what they can do once linked.
Plug in a USB cable, and it asks if you want to use it as a joystick. Then you can pretty much use it like any other game controller, for whatever you want. That simple.
Because of buttons, etc. other game controllers are better for serious game play, but it does fully function as one.
It uses Windows drivers, and is recognized just like any other Windows game controller.
For Real Flight, you can then configure it inside that program to be used instead of their dedicated controller. Probably the same for other flight sims that permit use of any joystick/game controller.
Frsky sells a wireless USB option, so one can do the same, just using the wireless USB dongle without the cord.
Spektrum also has a wireless USB adapter, but I do not know how well it is useable as a general controller.

Fair warning - the setup of Frsky/OpenTX radios is completely different than any other brand, and there is a learning curved involved. Don't expect to just plug and play.


Old 06-19-2020, 05:17 PM
  #15  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,158
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tedsander
Spektrum also has a wireless USB adapter, but I do not know how well it is useable as a general controller.
It enumerates as a standard joystick HID. Works great in all kinds of sims, including RealFlight.

Or you can just run RealFlight Mobile on your iX20...

Andy
Old 06-20-2020, 07:45 AM
  #16  
teisco
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tedsander
Plug in a USB cable, and it asks if you want to use it as a joystick. Then you can pretty much use it like any other game controller, for whatever you want. That simple.
Because of buttons, etc. other game controllers are better for serious game play, but it does fully function as one.
It uses Windows drivers, and is recognized just like any other Windows game controller.
For Real Flight, you can then configure it inside that program to be used instead of their dedicated controller. Probably the same for other flight sims that permit use of any joystick/game controller.
Frsky sells a wireless USB option, so one can do the same, just using the wireless USB dongle without the cord.
Spektrum also has a wireless USB adapter, but I do not know how well it is useable as a general controller.

Fair warning - the setup of Frsky/OpenTX radios is completely different than any other brand, and there is a learning curved involved. Don't expect to just plug and play.
Thanks,,,I think any modern radio would have a high learning curve for this old guy
Old 07-13-2023, 03:09 AM
  #17  
Hitokiri_2000
 
Hitokiri_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Struer Ringkøbing Amt, DENMARK
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I know this is an old thread and I assume you are a flyer?

The only transmitter I know of that you can connect to your pc and change/alter settings are the Nomadio Sensor and React systems.
These systems are for surface use (cars and so on) I know these systems because I have them my self and I use the pc link-up everytime I want to fiddle with any of the settings in the transmitter or even the models stored in the transmitter.

Old 07-14-2023, 04:27 AM
  #18  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,866
Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts
Default

Both my Turnigy i6S and FlySky i10 have usb ports that can plug into a PC and be used as a game port/simulator.
Old 07-14-2023, 04:54 AM
  #19  
tedsander
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: White Bear lake, MN
Posts: 756
Likes: 0
Received 68 Likes on 64 Posts
Default

Ditto on any Frsky model TX. On my to-do to make a custom model on my radios to use for Microsoft Flight Simulator, rather than replace my joystick that is no longer supported.
Old 07-16-2023, 03:51 AM
  #20  
Thefollower
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

I have used my FrSky Horus and Tandem radios on RF but have never tried them on MFS.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.