Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Spektrum Receiver problem

Old 07-18-2023, 11:07 PM
  #1  
albertoinbox
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 7
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spektrum Receiver problem

Signal from the radio to the receiver fails intermittently.

Specs:
Tamiya Motor + ESC
Spektrum G2 5000 50C LiPo 7.4v Smart Battery
Spektrum SR3500 Micro Receiver
Spektrum DX3E DSM Radio
Spektrum S6030 Digital Surface High-Torque Servo

Observations:
Soldered an extension to the receiver antenna
Many cuts along the cables sheath exposing bare metal
Also run LED lights module and power to motor cooling fan using the other 2 available channels, removed for troubleshooting. Problem persists with or without them.
Old 07-18-2023, 11:14 PM
  #2  
albertoinbox
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 7
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Video link

youtu.be/Vw-iuphq9sE

Tried many times to upload images but this forum wont let me, it says I cant upload a URL!!!

Last edited by albertoinbox; 07-18-2023 at 11:17 PM.
Old 07-18-2023, 11:50 PM
  #3  
albertoinbox
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 7
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to post images on this forum?

Something wrong here...how come I can't upload images???

When I attach them through the forums attachment manager and click submit I get an error message saying I can't post a URL before my tenth post. When I type the URL to the images I had to upload to a free image host to try a workaround I get the same message (at least now it actually makes sense), BUT I posted a URL on my second post to this thread so go figure.

I'm almost posting a bunch of bogus stuff just to get past my tenth post to see if this error will drop...but then I risk being seen as a spammer and being kicked out per forum rules.

What a hassle for a first try here, it took me 10 times more time than needed looking for a solution...ended up needing to ask for help to try to ask for help.

This forum looks like its been up for many years, whats going on?
Old 07-19-2023, 02:05 AM
  #4  
init4fun
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,325
Received 48 Likes on 42 Posts
Default

Hi albertoinbox,

First, let me Welcome you to RCU. I know the 10 posts thing is frustrating, but unfortunately there is a very good reason for it. Some time ago, a member got banned and kept making new accounts to post some really nasty porn images, over and over till the only solution was to institute the 10 posts before pictures restriction.

Now, for your receiver, if the antenna is damaged or altered in any way, you'll need a new receiver. It's not as simple as just adding more wire, the antenna is a specified "tuned length" and any more or less length will negatively affect it's operation. If I am reading this statement correctly;

"Soldered an extension to the receiver antenna Many cuts along the cables sheath exposing bare metal"

There really is no hope for salvaging the RX.
The following users liked this post:
albertoinbox (07-19-2023)
Old 07-19-2023, 10:03 AM
  #5  
albertoinbox
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 7
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you very much.

I did not know you couldnít alter the antenna. Yes, you read that right, I soldered a wire to it to make it long enough to come out of the top of the antenna plastic tube as I thought thatís what it should look like.

Im new to the hobby and never seen a vintage RC without an antenna sticking out the top. Guess the model is vintage but the receiver is modern and doesnít need it. Thatís actually a great thing and I screwed up.

A new receiver would cost $100 and I need a micro due to very confined space in the Tamiya Hotshot. To try to avoid the cost do you think that if I cut the wire back to its original length it would be ok? I know you said there was no hope
for it but please enlighten me.

Thanks again.

Originally Posted by init4fun
Hi albertoinbox,

First, let me Welcome you to RCU. I know the 10 posts thing is frustrating, but unfortunately there is a very good reason for it. Some time ago, a member got banned and kept making new accounts to post some really nasty porn images, over and over till the only solution was to institute the 10 posts before pictures restriction.

Now, for your receiver, if the antenna is damaged or altered in any way, you'll need a new receiver. It's not as simple as just adding more wire, the antenna is a specified "tuned length" and any more or less length will negatively affect it's operation. If I am reading this statement correctly;

"Soldered an extension to the receiver antenna Many cuts along the cables sheath exposing bare metal"

There really is no hope for salvaging the RX.

Old 07-19-2023, 01:50 PM
  #6  
mongo
My Feedback: (15)
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 3,464
Received 78 Likes on 68 Posts
Default

look around, if specktrum antennas are like futaba, they are just a snap connection to the rx board, and can be replaced fairly easily. can probably buy them fron someone like aero panda, or some other big dealer, maybe even from horizon..
The following users liked this post:
albertoinbox (07-19-2023)
Old 07-20-2023, 04:59 AM
  #7  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,120
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

We have service depots around the world. Any of them can help you.

Americas: https://www.horizonhobby.com/service-center.html
UK: [email protected] or https://www.logicrc.com/default.aspx...t,c:ZZ-SpekSup
EU: https://www.horizonhobby.de/de_DE/eu-service.html
AU/NZ: http://www.modelflight.com.au/customer-service/
ZA: http://www.jk-products.co.za/

What receiver are you using? Many of them (not all) have snap-on antennas that are easily repaired. You can't add an extension to it, and ANY DAMAGE AT ALL to the antenna will adversely affect performance.

Andy
The following users liked this post:
albertoinbox (07-20-2023)
Old 07-20-2023, 08:25 AM
  #8  
albertoinbox
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 7
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Andy, I didn’t know that, seems like service and repairs are currently on hold though.

Im using Spektrum SR3500 Micro Receiver, I think it’s been discontinued.

In my uneducated guess I thought a longer antenna would only improve reception.

Last edited by albertoinbox; 07-20-2023 at 10:01 AM.
Old 07-21-2023, 02:31 PM
  #9  
albertoinbox
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 7
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok, forget the SR3500, I got a brand new Spektrum SR315, its pretty small enough to fit. Very nice and way under $100.

But I just can't bind it to my DX3E radio though, I do the procedure and nothing happens.

I put the receiver in bind mode, press and hold the bind button on the radio and turn it on. After a few seconds the red LED on the radio blinks for a couple of seconds than goes solid but the receiver keeps blinking in bind mode forever...from 10 feet away.

Are these two NOT compatible?

Thanks.

Last edited by albertoinbox; 07-21-2023 at 02:34 PM.
Old 07-21-2023, 05:34 PM
  #10  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,120
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

No, the DX3E does not support any new protocols. It's a Surface DSM/Surface DSM2 radio. It's so old we don't even have any info on it in our site. I found this, though:

https://www.amainhobbies.com/spektru...pm3160/p158025

The SR315 will support DSMR and SLT, so a SLT3 transmitter would be a pretty comparable cross from what you have there now. Transmitter and receiver together are only $80.

https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...SPMSLT300.html

Andy
The following users liked this post:
albertoinbox (07-21-2023)
Old 07-21-2023, 06:17 PM
  #11  
albertoinbox
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Posts: 7
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Its been over a decade since I got these spektrum electronics, just was never able to use them. Took me so long they're discontinued...

So Im returning the RX and getting the combo.

Thank you Andy, this should be it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.