Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Spektrum Flap question

Old 09-18-2023, 04:50 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 20
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Spektrum Flap question

I am a newbie so not fully versed on all this. I have read a ton of posts, but want to ask here. Is there any way to configure flaps with a Spektrum DX-8 on one channel? I have a 7 channel receiver I woudl like to use on a gas Cub, however i run out of channels for the flaps.
I have Throttle, kill switch, power, ailerons, rudder and elevator and want put flaps on the other, but they move opposite directions. Is there any way of doing this except with a reversing Y connection? From what I gather the answer is no, but wanted to ask a direct question here
TIA
Old 09-18-2023, 05:09 AM
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,171
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

You listed 6 functions for a 7-channel receiver. So maybe you have dual ailerons set up?

If so, then you could put them on a Y lead, change the wing type to 1 Ail/1 Flap, and that would give you flaps on channel 6.

Or you could put in an 8 channel receiver.

Andy
Old 09-18-2023, 05:59 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 20
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Andy, Thank you for the reply. I have 6 functions listed plus the flaps which is the 7th. But I need two channels for the flaps so I am one short.

For my edification..I tried them on a Y lead but they acted like ailerons and moved in opposite directions. To make sure I understand you I need to change the wing type in the transmistter right?

Speaking of an 8 channel....this actually is a Spektrum 8000 but on Aux 3 two pins are missing. Is that repairable? That would also be an option if so.
Old 09-18-2023, 08:59 AM
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 3,171
Likes: 0
Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
Default

It would be a lot easier to help if you exported the model and attached the SPM file here.

If the flaps are moving in opposite directions, then 2 channels is the correct way to solve that. Does that now mean you need 9 channels?

Yes, the receiver can be fixed.

Andy
Old 09-18-2023, 11:54 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 20
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks Andy. Unfortunately, I can't export right now. I had to send my TX in for repair and either removed the flash card and misplaced it or left it in. Either way I don't have one.....but you told me what I need to know...two channels. I will go that way. 8 channels will suffice.

I will contact customer support to get that RX repaired...in the meantime I do have a 9 I can use
Old 09-25-2023, 11:21 AM
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Modena, ITALY
Posts: 124
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Or you simply rotate one of the flap servos 180 degree in the servo bay. It takes a little of old school modeling work to accommodate the servo in its new position but it surely works.
Old 09-26-2023, 02:44 AM
  #7  
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,701
Received 69 Likes on 56 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by PiccoLino
Or you simply rotate one of the flap servos 180 degree in the servo bay. It takes a little of old school modeling work to accommodate the servo in its new position but it surely works.
Buying a new rx is a LOT better solution......
The following users liked this post:
PiccoLino (10-02-2023)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.