Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Atmospheric effects?

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2002, 03:30 AM
Warmonger

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Atmospheric effects?

I've been flying at the same location for a few months and all of a sudden today had major radio interference on 2 different radio sets (literally took control from me). The only difference is that today was very overcast and a large storm was brewing.

I have noticed small hits at this location in the past, but were always momentary and in about the same location, but today they were major and widespread!

Is it not possible that the thick cloud cover and charged air were exaggerating the same type hits I've seen in the past? I can't think of anything else (other than some new device has appeared since last week).

I've read that pager signals are near the upper RC 72 range and am wondering also if those pager signals specifically were kept lower because of the atmosphere(?)

Futaba narrow band FM channels 50 and 55.

Any ideas?
Old 05-13-2002, 05:35 PM
FCC

Yes cloud/storm lightning can effect. In fact this lightning have very borad spectrum and it even effects military and hitec space communication systems, so I don't think there is some thing wrong with you radio. OR there could be some other interference source which you are unaware of.
Old 05-13-2002, 05:57 PM
Cactus.
My Feedback: (1)

i've had to stop gliding because a storm was comming adn the interferance was a problem, still, im in the car before i get wet good warning lol
Old 05-14-2002, 10:29 AM
Warmonger

Default Okay so...

If I were using a PCM radio in this case would it help? From what I've read PCM is less suscpetible to interference, but does it really help when there is a competing signal bleeding onto your frequency?