Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba CAP7

Old 02-10-2004, 12:18 PM
  #1  
Swager
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baldwinsville, NY
Posts: 583
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba CAP7

Any performance news or reviews on the new Futaba CAP7?
Old 02-11-2004, 12:27 AM
  #2  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Just got to play with one today. It's one powerful little radio! Basically, they took the 9C software and removed 2 channels. Programming's almost identical. The only major difference is the screen res is a lot lower. Only 3 Pmixes. Only one snap direction (but you shouldn't use that anyway...cheating ) The switches are a bit different. The 3 knobs and 2 sliders are gone. Instead what would be switch C on the 9 is the only knob. All other switches are the same including the 3-position G. Switches are fully assignable as in the 9 and it's PWM/PCM capable.

I'd say if you're looking for a mid-class radio, BUY IT. You can't go wrong.
Old 02-11-2004, 01:32 AM
  #3  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

I'll agree with what Aaron just said, I got to look at it today as well and it looks like a great value for the dollar.
Old 02-12-2004, 12:46 AM
  #4  
cajunhemi
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: morgan city, LA
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

So it is not a low end cp radio like the 6eax?
I was hoping it would have the programming
of a high end radio. I want to use it for a ultra stick 60
with flaps. with the 7 ch i think i can get alot more out of the plane.
thanks for the info
Old 02-13-2004, 12:10 AM
  #5  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

It'll definately handle it. THe programming is almost EXACTLY like the 9C with 2 channels removed. Oh, and I don't believe there was a CAMPac memory slot but I cant remember??? And it has a crystal instead of a module. The 6E doesn't hold a candle to it. Neither does the 6X.
Old 02-13-2004, 11:41 AM
  #6  
fastplanefly
Junior Member
 
fastplanefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: VIRGINIA,BEACHfentress
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

does any one have a pic of this futaba cap7,i looked all over cant find one,thanks for any reply
Old 02-13-2004, 12:51 PM
  #7  
wyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Edmore, MI
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Look [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LNGAE9**&P=G]here[/link] for a pic of the 7C.
Old 02-13-2004, 01:53 PM
  #8  
freeflyer99
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

I tried to find the complete specs on 7CAP but so far nothing, strangely not even on Futaba site. I am planning to buy 6 channel Radio, since their are no reviews or much of feed back on 7CAP, I would like to ask from you experienced fliers should I go for new 7CAP or 6XA or wait for some time.

Imran
Old 02-13-2004, 03:51 PM
  #9  
wyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Edmore, MI
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

I have had a 6xas and I have a 9c and I would reccomend the 7c over the 6xas. If the 7c is anything like the 9c to program(which I am sure it is) it will be a lot easier to program. Futaba has the 7c on the [link=http://www.futabarc.com/radios/feature-compare.html]feature comparison[/link] on their web site. Check it out, and you will see that the 7c is more advanced than the 6xas, but less than the 9c.
Old 02-14-2004, 12:51 AM
  #10  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

DON'T get the 6X. It's nothing compared to the 7C. Like I said, the 7C is about like the 9C with two channels removed.
Old 02-14-2004, 05:37 PM
  #11  
PropAce
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

I totaly agree with 3D fanitic all the way. This radio is awsome going at $250 also make it a great deal i think the JR 6102 is going to loose its ground with this new radio.
Old 02-14-2004, 05:45 PM
  #12  
BaronSchwab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 1,324
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Ditch the 6 Chs and go with the 7C.
Old 02-14-2004, 08:27 PM
  #13  
deka14353
Senior Member
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Quebradillapuerto rico, PUERTO RICO (USA)
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Hi i got one and man it came with digital servos and all is a great radio just like my 9c they are so alike
the thing i like better that my 9c is that it have more black on the cover so no fuel marks hehehe
is a great radio for the $!
Old 02-20-2004, 08:59 PM
  #14  
zero244
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mcminnville, OR
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I ordered one today

I ordered the 7c Today with the 3004 servos. I dont normally buy something before people have had a chance to test it out in the field. Futaba has been doing this for a while. I feel they have done there homework. Tower Hobbies has a great price on it right now, 250.00 minus 15.00. I almost bought a 6eax when it came out.....but held out.......because I wanted something with a few more features. I was figuring on getting the 9c when the 7c came out. I think this package will work better for me.......I fly multi-channel sailplanes..........and would probably never need more than 7 channels.
This looks like a very good deal......I will update when I test out the 7c.
Old 02-20-2004, 11:51 PM
  #15  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Rockon! Be sure to let us know how it works in the field!
Old 02-21-2004, 12:08 AM
  #16  
PropAce
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

wont hear any complaints from me i relly like the Futaba 7CHP $250 is a good deal.
Old 02-26-2004, 10:50 PM
  #17  
Swager
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baldwinsville, NY
Posts: 583
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

A CAF7 with digital servos went on EBay for $252!!

I paid $249 with the S3004s!!

Seems someone got a pretty good deal!

Old 02-27-2004, 12:58 AM
  #18  
WALKERS210-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (36)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sipsey, AL
Posts: 387
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Received my T7CAP today, in fact ambushed the FEDEX Driver two blocks from the house just to pick it up sooner. So far it is everything and more that I expected it to be. Now if the weather will give me a break will put something in the air even its a kite. Hmm where could you mount the servos on a kite? Anyway for the money I think that this is a keeper.
Old 02-27-2004, 01:15 AM
  #19  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Poor FedEx driver...
Old 02-27-2004, 02:58 AM
  #20  
jeffmill
Junior Member
 
jeffmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Harare, ZIMBABWE
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Futaba's web site has the radio spec and a picture, it looks pretty good.

go to this address.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/radios/futj69.html
Old 03-03-2004, 11:27 PM
  #21  
expresspilot
Member
 
expresspilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: avon park, FL,
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Does anyone know if this has the twin elevator mix where you can trim both elevators and have it on all the time not on a switch.
Old 03-04-2004, 08:09 PM
  #22  
zero244
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mcminnville, OR
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

yes you can have dual servos on Elevator.......you can adjust the individual throw........and trim the servos throw. Your only limitation for dual servos is the number of channels avalable, which is why many people move to the 9C
Old 03-16-2004, 06:33 PM
  #23  
JohnC12
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

Hello All-

I just recently purchased the 7C for my Great Planes Pitts Special. This plane requires the use of 4 servos in the wings and 2 servos in the elevator. I specifically purchased this radio so I could mix all these servos together. (Accroding to Futaba specs and the website, this radio can do this.) However, when I started setting up all the control surfaces, I found that I could mix channels 2 and 5 (elevator) and 1 and 7 (ailerons) though I couldnt get the slave servo to adjust with the trim tabs. Basiclly, I can only adjust one servo which is the master. I contacted Futaba Technical Support and they advised that it seems that the Futaba development team left out this feature on the 7C. (Though they said this is available on the 9C.) They advised they would look into this matter and get back to me later this week once they find out a solution. (Is there one?)

Zero- I see in your posting that you said this could be done using the 7C. Have you accomplished this task and if so, how? I'm at the end stages of building my Pitts and would like to take care of this problem without having to use Y-Harnesses.

I will update this posting once I hear back from Futaba, meanwhile I'd be a cautious buying this radio if you want to mix two servos together and have the ability to control the trims on both the master and slave servos.

Again, any help with this problem would be appreciated!
Old 03-16-2004, 10:27 PM
  #24  
expresspilot
Member
 
expresspilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: avon park, FL,
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba CAP7

You have validated my choice to go ahead and buy the 9c instead. I love it so far.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.