Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

NEW 9C synth

Old 03-07-2004, 09:38 PM
  #1  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEW 9C synth

Any news on the new 9C Synth from Futuba... I originally heard this was going to be out Mid-Feb or Mid-March in September. I purchased a Futuba instead of a Hitec based upon this information and starting to worry a bit. []
Old 03-08-2004, 01:19 AM
  #2  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

Yeaaah... I hear ya.
Old 03-08-2004, 10:52 AM
  #3  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

Oh, it will come soon, just like the sun will rise. Question is how much $$
Old 03-08-2004, 11:25 AM
  #4  
3d-aholic
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
3d-aholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,024
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

ORIGINAL: rajul

Oh, it will come soon, just like the sun will rise. Question is how much $$
Well as long as it doesn't take as long as the sunrise period on Pluto.....
Old 03-10-2004, 11:32 PM
  #5  
Pimpwerx
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

I think a lot of people are waiting on this. I'm waiting for it before I buy my 9C. I'm getting awful impatient. PEACE.
Old 03-11-2004, 01:52 AM
  #6  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

The module has been delayed. It should be out soon
Old 03-11-2004, 11:55 AM
  #7  
nedyob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (67)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NORTHWOOD, IA
Posts: 1,381
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

Witch will come first the synth. module or Christmas. I think I'll ask Santa to bring me one and wait to see what I get. More likely a lump of coal.
NEDYOB
Old 03-11-2004, 12:09 PM
  #8  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

It could be a business decision by Futaba to delay. Perhaps they need to reduce the inventory of the standard module to a "safe" level before releasing the synth module, assuming the demand is good.
Old 03-11-2004, 12:59 PM
  #9  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

Imagine what the market for standard modules is going to be.... CHEAP! Maybe I'll skip the synth and buy up some of the old standard ones. I'll only need a couple extra. How many channels do I fly on anyway?

..... now if I had a synth RX too?....hmmmmm
Old 03-11-2004, 10:05 PM
  #10  
rjmdubois
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

I have a 9C for almost 2 years, using the Spectra (Hitec) module without a problem. Actually, when I range tested, the Spectra increases the range by a few feet, compared with Futaba module.
Old 03-11-2004, 10:32 PM
  #11  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

ORIGINAL: rjmdubois

I have a 9C for almost 2 years, using the Spectra (Hitec) module without a problem. Actually, when I range tested, the Spectra increases the range by a few feet, compared with Futaba module.
Are both your Futaba and Hitec modules on PCM or FM ?
Old 03-11-2004, 10:48 PM
  #12  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

PCM is FM
Old 03-11-2004, 10:50 PM
  #13  
AirBearMA
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Attleboro, MA
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

Use of the Hitec Spectra on the Futaba 9C is highly questionable and illegal by both the FCC and AMA. While you may see that it "appears" to work on your channel. What you will not see without specialized measurement equipment is the increased ajacent channel interference.

If my plane got shot down by someone using this type of setup, I would be pretty upset.
Old 03-11-2004, 11:01 PM
  #14  
mr_matt
My Feedback: (10)
 
mr_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oak Park, CA,
Posts: 10,383
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

ORIGINAL: 3DFanatic

PCM is FM

Yes and no.


PCM can send much higher frequncy information in many cases than a normal PPM (not encoded) data stream. I have seen modules that will pass non encoded data very well and completly wipe out a Futaba PCM data stream.
Old 03-11-2004, 11:08 PM
  #15  
rjmdubois
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

I use the Spectra module on both PPM (Futaba and Hitec) receivers as well as PCM (Futaba).

Regarding the interference in other channels, we have a frequency scanner at our club and no problems detected so far. I am not sure if this FCC and AMA restriction does not have to do with marketing interest of some companies. Some years ago I used to hear that you couldn't use JR servos with Futaba receivers....
Old 03-12-2004, 12:47 AM
  #16  
macgyver22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: , TX
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

ORIGINAL: AirBearMA

Use of the Hitec Spectra on the Futaba 9C is highly questionable and illegal by both the FCC and AMA. While you may see that it "appears" to work on your channel. What you will not see without specialized measurement equipment is the increased ajacent channel interference.

If my plane got shot down by someone using this type of setup, I would be pretty upset.

Why is this illegal?? I don't think I would do it, don't like to mix-n-match certain things. Unless you can point to a specific place in the FCC regulations about using this setup (forget the AMA) I don't see where the illegality comes from . Has anyone here ever read the FCC regulation (forget the AMA - they have no authority)? My basic knowledge says that you cannot change crystals, only entire RF systems - this would seem to comply. Not saying it is a good idea, but unless you can point out the regs, it seems that deeming it illegal is a bit hasty.
Old 03-12-2004, 03:03 AM
  #17  
XJet
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tokoroa, , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 3,848
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

Actually it makes sense for RF modules not to be approved when used in a transmitter for which they weren't originally designed or in which they've not be certified.

Just one of the problems is that the aerial on the Futaba transmitter may be a different length, inductance or capacitance and that could result in the RF module's output stage producing excessive off-frequency output (splatter or harmonics) -- to saly little of having a lower-than optimum RF output.

If I were going to use a Hitec Spectra mdule in a Futaba transmitter I'd want to retune it for use with that transmitter - just to be safe.
Old 03-12-2004, 10:14 AM
  #18  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

How do you tune a multi channel module to a transmitter.
That doesn't sound right, but what do I know?

WHile the spectrum module worked well in the 8U series of transmitters, Futaba did change something in the 9C that makes it less than optimal. What I don't know but this has been discussed in the past on RCU
Old 03-12-2004, 10:18 AM
  #19  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

ORIGINAL: Geistware

How do you tune a multi channel module to a transmitter.
That doesn't sound right, but what do I know?
You don't have to. That's what the PLL circuitry is for. But I'm no expert
Old 03-12-2004, 10:23 AM
  #20  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

rajul, that is what I figured.
Just change the resistor in the oscillator circuit and you have a new frequency.
That is what the dials do.
Old 03-12-2004, 10:27 AM
  #21  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NEW 9C synth

Miles, that's my "guess" too LOL !

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.