Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

Old 03-08-2004, 09:21 PM
  #1  
RTK
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Left Coast , CA
Posts: 4,890
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

Has anyone ever set-up a 2 servo aileron without a matchbox? I think the neutral points would be easy, but what about the end pionts?
I am going try this on a new comp-art 2.6 extra. Is this unrealistic? Or should I just order the matchboxes.
Old 03-08-2004, 09:47 PM
  #2  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

A lot depends on the type of servos you plan to use. Standard servos can usually be adjusted so that they are not too wastefull of power. Digital servos are much harder to match if they are not Hitec servos.
Old 03-08-2004, 10:18 PM
  #3  
3wExtra
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 524
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

if you use a 10x you can use the quad aileron; ust like on a ultra stick if you are using a MPx it should ber very easy. here is the link to the ultra stick
http://horizon.hobbyshopnow.com/shar...450-manual.pdf it should explain how to on this manual
Old 03-08-2004, 11:14 PM
  #4  
RTK
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Left Coast , CA
Posts: 4,890
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

I will TRY to do it with both servos y'd together on each wing using digital servos (no programer, or matchboxes). I have a 9z-BUT- (4)chnls ail, (2) chnls ele, (for ailevators), (1) rud, (1) thr. that adds up to 8 channels used. The 9th channel on a 9z is not proportional and I wanted my smoke to be linked to the throttle using the sullivan smoke system. It would be nice if Futaba would have 9 proportional channels.
Old 03-09-2004, 07:39 PM
  #5  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

You at the very least need them on seperate channel's, Y'ing them together will solve nothing unless they happen to be matched already, or you can match them mechanically.
Old 03-09-2004, 10:46 PM
  #6  
RTK
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Left Coast , CA
Posts: 4,890
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

Lynx- Can you match mechanicaly with good results? I have never owned a plane with 2 aileron servos on each panel.
Old 03-11-2004, 01:48 AM
  #7  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

I've never done it before myself but there's no reason why not. Depends entirley on how much space you have to work with to put in the connecting rods. Keep in mind, servo's even on adjacent channels will still have a differential movement rate of about 2ms's per channel spacing. It's not an issue to most people, but I've heard 3D fliers complain about it because it causes a slight scew when the control deflection is sudden and dramatic.
Old 03-11-2004, 06:12 AM
  #8  
IanB
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Crawfordsville, IN
Posts: 165
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 Aileron servos without MATCHBOX?

People were building and flying 2 and sometimes 3 servos per aileron (and more per rudder) for years before a MATCHBOX was even thought of...........manufacturers have learned that large scale aerbatic aircraft owners will almost invariably buy any of the crap they can churn out whether they actually need it in their planes or not! Helpfull..........yes it is.........TOTALLY NECESSARY.......no way.

Also one good servo would EASILY handle the aileron on one of those planes.............fact! I flew an aeroworks edge for 3 years with ONE multiplex royal digital per servo..............never a problem.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.