Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Battery for 8 servo setup?

Old 03-12-2004, 10:39 AM
  #1  
fd59
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fd59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cleveland, MS
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery for 8 servo setup?

1.20 Size Ultimate Bi-Plane with 7 S3004 Servos (one each for Aileron, elevator half, and throttle) and 1 High Torqe S3305 Servo on Rudder.

I currently have a 6-volt 1400 mAh Nimh Expert battery for this setup.

Will this work? If not, what should I use?

Thanks,

Mack
Old 03-12-2004, 11:15 AM
  #2  
hilleyja
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Salem, WV
Posts: 2,181
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Battery for 8 servo setup?

That should be OK. Just keep an eye on your voltage after each flight. I will be running a 6-volt NIMH 1800mah pack on a 28.7%-scale GP Christen Eagle II. It will have (4) airlon servos (Hitec HS-5475s), (2) elevator servos (Hitec HS-5475s), (1) rudder servo (Hitec HS-5975) and (1) throttle servo (Futaba 9304). I'm still working on it and might yet decide to run a redundancy setup, i.e., (2) 6-volt 1800mah NIMH batteries on (2) MPI heavy-duty double-pole switches, connected to 2 channels on my RX.

I have an over-kill setup for my 80" Aeroworks X300L Profile. It has (2) airlon servos (Hitec HS-5625s), (2) elevator servos (Hitec HS-5625s, (1) rudder servo (Hitec HS-5645) and (1) throttle servo (Hitec HS-425). I'm running a 6-volt 3500mah pack on this configuration and can fly all day long. The big pack actually serves a secondary function -- balast for CG.
Old 03-12-2004, 12:58 PM
  #3  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Battery for 8 servo setup?

This will work, but my personal preference would be a 1400maH NiCad and not NiMH. At heavy loads, the NiCad will have more available power/voltage.
Old 03-12-2004, 03:00 PM
  #4  
fd59
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
fd59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cleveland, MS
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Battery for 8 servo setup?

Thanks for the input. I think I will stay with this setup unless I end up flying this plane more than twice a Sunday. I currently have a Sledge and an CG extreme 330 and will soon have a burrito. To me the profiles are more fun to fly, but I have always wanted an Ultimate bipe even though I might not fly it very often.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.